100 Happy Days 57/100, Gratitude

Years ago I went through a phase of quietly counting my blessings when I woke up each morning. I’d lie in bed, enjoying the comfort of the last few minutes before the day started happening and and think of at least three things I was grateful for in that moment.

A good nights sleep, a warm bed, food in the cupboards, a working car, a job, a roof over my head, air in my lungs, friends who love me… Often when I started it was hard to stop. It was a great way to start the day, I’d get out of bed feeling positive instead of annoyed at having to be awake and my temperament would be a lot better most of those days also. I just appreciated life more.

I don’t know why I stopped. It doesn’t take long to get off track on these types of things, one day becomes two and before you know it you can’t really remember the last time you did it, or have the energy to start doing it again. Well that’s how it was for me anyway. I guess the same thing happened when I forgot to take my anti depressants for a month.

Being over halfway through this challenge, back on the anti depressants and feeling better about life in general, I think it’s a good time to start again. It’ll be a little bit harder this time round, often my wee man wakes me up in the morning, so I’ve decided to do it in another place I like to spend lots of time, the shower. 

Do you count your blessings daily?

What are you grateful for today?

Smiles and Sunshine,

Katie

4 thoughts on “100 Happy Days 57/100, Gratitude

  1. Like you, Katie, I used to think of there things I was grateful for, but I did so when I went to bed at night; then, as gradually as you suggest, I stopped doing it. Thank you for the reminder. I’m going to start again; I think I was more aware of life and my blessings when I was doing it. Also, like you, I’m going to try doing it at a different time, my early morning walks. I often feel happy then, but I never stop to take the time to say why.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

