100 Happy Days 55/100, Getaway

If you’ve been following my last few posts or my Facebook or Instagram lately you’ll know that we went for our first family holiday over the weekend, to Lake Tekapo which has over the last four years become one of Zombie and my favourite places to go.

We go because of ice hockey. That’s a huge part of what makes Zombie love the place. But for me it’s a place where I can relax for a while. Sit down and enjoy myself in the cafe or the hot pools while Zombie plays his matches. Have a drink and a laugh at the pub afterwards and spend the night up late with Zombie talking shit and giggling because we’re both lightweights now when it comes to having a drink and then still being able to relax for most of the following day because it’s only a two and a half hour drive from home.

Bubble quickly made himself at home in our hotel room.

I was sure it was going to be different with Bubble around with us this time, less relaxing, more responsibility, but it was actually even more fun. We did more exploring and found a petting zoo, something we never expected to do. Plus we got to play with Bubble in the hot pools. He loves his bathtime so we were pretty sure he would love the pools. Sure enough, two hours later we emerged, smiling, laughing and wrinkly from being in for too long.

This time around we were lucky enough to be going with a decent amount of money (we usually travel cheaply) so I even got to indulge in a little pampering with a facial and a Swedish massage. I know I won’t be able to do that every time, but it was just what I’ve been needing. I’d never had a facial before and I felt like I was special! 

When we left Tekapo on Sunday evening I felt like a physical weight had been lifted from my entire body and I’ve been in a much happier mood ever since. Bubble had an amazing time and I feel like we are closer as a family as a result. Sometimes a break from reality is all we need.

Smiles and Sunshine

Katie

5 thoughts on “100 Happy Days 55/100, Getaway

Leave a Reply

