Let’s Get Healthy Part Three: Make A Plan

It’s been far too long since I set some goals and decided to get back on the healthy living band wagon.  I expected to write this post between the middle and end of January, yet here we are almost in March and aside from setting some goals and cutting down on junk food I haven’t even started.  It’s disappointing to say the least.

Of course I’ve got plenty of excuses.  There’s been sickness, I’ve been busy at work, a flare up in my post partum depression and just sheer exhaustion, but as I mentioned in Let’s Get Healthy: Life Got In The Way, I just need to get on with it.  Things are always going to get in the way and make reaching goals harder.  This is really just a test of how badly you want to reach them.  So with that in mind, it’s time to make my plan and get going with it.

There’s a few things I like to remember when making a plan:

  • Set goals
  • Identify obstacles
  • Identify how to achieve goals despite obstacles
  • Make it achievable and measurable
  • Be specific
  • Make it flexible so that you can make changes if necessary as you progress

The biggest obstacle that I identified was time.  I ‘don’t have time’ to blog weekly, to prepare food in advance, to get a better sleep in order to feel more alive, to go for walks, the list goes on.  But the more I thought about it I realised that a lot of the reason is bad planning on my part and when I do get a chance to breathe, I’m so tired and just want to sit and do nothing.  Watch TV, play on my phone, these are the things I’ve taken to doing when I do get a free moment and I’ve realised that I do these things every day.  The tiredness is only going to go away through a better diet and increased physical activity, so I’m going to have to just bite the bullet and get on with it.  Make a time plan for each day if I have to, just find a way to fit in a bit of preparation so that over time it will get easier and it will seem like I magically have more time.

Here is my plan:

Long term goal

  • To be happy, healthy and back on the wellness bandwagon.

Short term goals (set to achieve the long term goal):

  • Get back into yoga

Put on the backburner until I get into a good routine with food.  Reassess Sunday March 26th.

  • Make flavoured drinks a treat only

Don’t buy any flavoured drinks with groceries.  If they’re not easily accessible I’m less likely to succumb.  Keep cold water in the fridge at all times.  Start date Immediately

  • Stop relying on caffeine

Put on the backburner until I get into a good routine with food.  Reassess Sunday March 26th.

  • Make time to blog about how I’m doing each week

Every Monday evening post an update including measurements.  Don’t force myself to write the entire post in one sitting, write five minutes here and there as the week goes if necessary.  Start date Monday 6 March

  • Plan and prepare lunches/snacks in advance

Write a meal plan each week and make the grocery list from this with no extras.  Once shopping is done, prep food while putting it way (cut fruit and bag into portions for smoothies, portion out snacks etc).  Start date Sunday 5 March

  • Drastically lower my sugar intake

When making the meal plan, choose as many foods as possible that don’t need to be processed/packaged.  Choose meals that can be made quickly but without processed foods.  Stick to what I know to start with, no experimenting until I get into a good routine.  Start date Sunday 5 March

  • Increase fruit and veggie intake

Plan for all meals to have at least one serve of fruit or vegetables.  Snacks can be as simple as an apple or carrot sticks.  Stick to fruit and vegetables I know I like to start with.  Start date Sunday 5 March

  • Make walks and physical activity a regular occurrence

I want to get back into my 10,000 steps a day on my FitBit, I’ve been slacking on there so for now I’ll do what it takes to hit goal each day, even if that means jogging on the spot for 20 minutes at 8.30 when I realise I’m not close.  Start date Immediately.  Put workouts on the back burner until I’m in a good routine with food.  Reassess Sunday March 26th.

I’ve got this post bookmarked on my phone so I can check on my plan at any time and make sure I’m sticking to it.  I’ve got the rest of this week to prepare myself as I’ll be starting Monday so I’m going to start by putting together some meal plans and making lists for each day so that I can keep myself on track.  I’m also going to do what I did with my elimination diet and use Instagram as a tool, posting pictures of my food, step counts, workouts, motivational quotes, whatever helps.  I’ve also found following people on a similar journey on Instagram to be a huge help also as it can be both inspiring and give me new ideas.  I may even start throwing them all up on Facebook as well unless people get sick of it.

I’m getting excited about this now, which is a good sign.  Are you making changes with your diet and exercise?  What are your goals?  How do you find the motivation to stick to them?

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

3 thoughts on “Let’s Get Healthy Part Three: Make A Plan

  1. Hi you have been an inspiration for me and after your first goal setting post I did one at the start of January, like you sometimes things got in the way But I have managed to loose a small amount of weight consistently each week and I have upped my walking and eating more fruit and veges , easy at this time of year cause I have them in my garden. So thanks and take heart you will make it Lynne 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lynne, thank you for this, it definitely gives me a lift knowing that even though I am struggling people are still there with me. Hope you are well ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

