Setting Small Goals

A few weeks ago I posted I’m Not Ashamed Of My Body where I wrote about how I have finally achieved body positivity towards myself.

Since then, I’ve been having back pain when driving and doing certain tasks, breathlessness when walking and my eczema has been playing up too, so I have decided to make a few small changes to get healthier.

image

I don’t have a goal weight or size, I just want to make a few realistic goals each week to get healthy again without making drastic changes which in turn could affect my son and then stick to them. My life is much busier now with a baby so starting out small is the best way for me to get back into healthier habits.

Tomorrow is the start of a new week and I’ve decided to set the following 3 goals to smash.

1) Stop drinking soft drink and swap for water.

2) Eat a decent breakfast every morning instead of grabbing something small as I rush about my day.

image

3) Go for a walk every day and hit at least 10,000 steps daily on my Fitbit.

I’ve been for a few walks lately and have enjoyed pushing my son in the pram, plus coming into spring it’s the perfect time to get out and about.

image

Next Sunday I’ll review how I’ve achieved these goals and hopefully set a couple more to work on the following week.

Slow and steady wins the race.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

17 thoughts on “Setting Small Goals

    1. Thank you very much. There is no way I would have time to start off all guns blazing since my son was born but I also think that small goals make it easier to stick to getting healthy as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Like where you’re going with the goals. We use a Sodastrem and just use water, no flavourings. The main advantage to us is that we tend to to keep it going over the weeks and months. We fall off the path from time to time but chilled carbonated water is pretty nice to drink.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I might have to give it a go, I’ve never had carbonated water before. Water can get a bit boring at times, although I’ve found that having just water makes it easy to not drink other drinks so hopefully I stop getting tempted for flavours

      Like

    1. Absolutely! There is no way I would have time to start off all guns blazing since my son was born and he is my first priority at all times, but I also think that small goals make it easier to stick to getting healthy as well!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Today proved that some days it will be harder than others as my son is going through a growth spurt so needs constant feeding, but I still managed most of it ☺

      Like

  2. I find my Fitbit the most useful tool I’ve ever had for helping me be consistent with my exercise goals, but I don’t think it will give you the extra credit you deserve for pushing a pram and baby while you walk! Good luck with your small goals, wise lady.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is a great tool! I’m a little competitive and fond the challenges with friends to be a great motivator so I’ve got a couple of friends who are doing them with me to keep me on track. Plus I like beating my own records. I think you might be right about the pram pushing though, it seems easy but it does make a difference!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s the little things that count and add up! Good for you Katie!! Baby steps!! (Hahaha, pun intended!!) Seriously though, do for you what you need to make you happy and you healthy! It’s hard getting the energy back after having a baby, but you’re doing it right by making little changes. Oh, and hey, make sure you get your B vitamins (sorry for the unsolicited advice, :D). Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I definitely don’t have time for anything other than baby steps now, but that’s okay because I’d rather be spending time with my son anyway. Thanks for the vitamin advice, I hadn’t thought of that! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Breakfast is my favourite meal. I’m still trying to fond the time for a delicious cooked breakfast, but this week is about not just grabbing a yogurt in between baby feeds then binge eating later on and actually taking a few extra minutes to make some porridge or a smoothie which will keep me fuller for longer. On my partners days off I’m hoping for a cooked breakfast though ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes definitely even making a big batch of chia seed pudding and just grabbing a couple of spoonfuls in a bowl in the morning would be awesome 🙂 fingers crossed the partner gets onto the bacon and eggs though haha x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

