30 Weeks Pregnant: Energy Bursts And Tight Dresses

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned just how tired I’ve been my entire pregnancy in any of my posts.  I know I’ve touched on it, but I think the reality was a lot worse.  Getting out of bed in the morning was almost impossible, I assumed because I wasn’t sleeping well and once I was out everything would go in slow motion, I had no go button and there didn’t seem to be a lot I could do about it.

Everyday the first hour at work  (which is one of the busiest hours of the day) was spent yawning and trying to stay awake at the same time as getting everything set up for the day that I wasn’t able to set up the day before.  Some days I was at the point where I was having to get up and stretch or walk around the room a bit, just to keep myself alert enough to keep going.  I usually regained a bit of energy by mid morning, enough to cope with the day, although it often waned by mid afternoon and the home stretch would be pretty rough.  After work it was rare for me to come home without needing a nap and even with that, I’d still be exhausted and ready for bed by around 8.30pm.

Weekends were no better.  I’d have all intentions of getting up at a reasonable hour, maybe doing some housework, homework or baby preparation chores, but often breakfast and my shower were enough to tire me out enough for a lie down.  Some days I was napping twice and still having an early night.  I started feeling like a bit of a failure, there were so many things I wanted to do and needed to get done and there just wasn’t a chance to get them done due to my energy levels.  Zombie helped out of course, but the more weeks that went by, the more behind I got and the more it brought me down, especially when I had so many people telling me that this was the nice stage of pregnancy, the time where you have energy and the harder parts of the first trimester, like morning sickness were gone.  My energy levels were dropping daily.

Two weeks ago I had my gestational diabetes test and my midwife had ordered extra tests to check my iron levels.  The diabetes test came back all clear, which was great news, but it turned out that my iron stores were at ten, at the start of my pregnancy they were at eighty.  No wonder I was so tired!  Iron tablets were prescribed and on my third day of taking them I felt better than I had in months and luckily for me I haven’t had any of the nasty side effects that can come with taking iron tablets.  Although I must admit my number twos are now a strange colour and particularly odorous!

The difference is amazing.  I’m still not sleeping well, but getting out of bed is no longer impossible.  I’m not yawning my way through the day, I can sit at my desk for longer without needing to jolt myself awake, I’m making less mistakes, remembering more and I’ve only had one nap this week!  Things are getting done and I couldn’t be happier.

My bump is getting bigger every day, the full extent of which I realised on Friday when Zombie and I decided to have a long overdue date night of dinner and a movie.  I was looking forward to going out, something we don’t often do anymore, but I was especially looking forward to getting dressed up.  How wrong I was, even my old faithful ‘fat’ dress was too small.  It’s a lovely purple dress (my favourite colour) that tapers out, so I figured it would be perfect for the bump.  In a way it was, it sat snugly around bump, but I forgot that I’ve also gotten bigger elsewhere, namely my chest and it was a choice between not being able to breathe all night and risking splitting the dress, or sticking to my comfy clothes that have been my go to for a while now.  I chose to be comfortable and we ended up having a great night which is way more important than wearing a nice dress.

20160424_173647.jpg

Baby is hopefully only ten weeks away now and I’m getting really excited to meet him or her.  There is still plenty that I need to do before baby arrives, but I’m no longer feeling like it’s an impossible task.  This week alone I finally got myself organised to get a more family appropriate car.  My two door gas guzzler just wasn’t going to work with a car seat and living on a budget so it was time for something with four doors, something cheap to run and something a bit more reliable.  Now I’m trying to sell the old car, which is stressful in itself, but I’m sure it will go eventually.  In the meantime I’m going to enjoy my new found energy, babys’ constant kicks and the compliments I’m getting from strangers about the fact that I’m pregnant.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

4 thoughts on “30 Weeks Pregnant: Energy Bursts And Tight Dresses

  1. Having never been pregnant myself, I am having so much fun reading about your experience. You are as candid and open about your pregnancy as you have always been about your life. It’s a pleasure to read your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Pregnancy is hard so I feel like with your nieces and nephews that you got the best of both worlds!

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you got the energy thing figured out! I hope that makes these last few weeks much easier for you!! Sooo exciting! Won’t be long now!! I’d like to say that these last couple of weeks are going to fly by… but… I honestly don’t remember, hehe!! Enjoy your new-found energy!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The energy thing is amazing and evidenced by my Fitbit stats going up! Still haven’t had a 10000 step day, but I’ve gotten close which is a vast improvement but I think that the fact that I can actually concentrate is the best part. The way the pregnancy has gone so far I assume that it’s going to fly by, hopefully not too fast though because I still have quite a bit to do!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

