Excitement Rising

It’s only a couple of weeks in, but I already know that 2016 is going to be my most exciting – and most challenging year yet and so far I haven’t even set my goals!  The reason I know this, is because this year two big things are going to happen.  One of them, probably the most important thing I will ever do in my life and the other, is something just for me that has the potential to change my life for the better even more.

2016-logo.jpg

I’ll start with the ‘smaller’ of the two.  In the later half of last year I attended a couple of free writing workshops for people with mental illnesses.  After starting my blog, my passion for writing came back and when I heard about the workshops I jumped at the chance.  They were brilliant.  I learned heaps, got even more amped about writing and also found out about a one year course that a local college offers part time for adults.

They only accept 20 students per year which is broken down into two classes of 10.  You get intensive training about all forms of writing, lessons on getting published, participate in critique with classmates, create a portfolio, attend all sorts of different writing events and also get assigned a published mentor.  I immediately decided that I was going to do the course and after a nervous few weeks of writing and editing my submission pieces and completing an interview (always scary) I got the phone call to say I had been accepted.  I start mid February and I can’t wait!  If I knuckle down and do the work this may help me reach my dream of completing a novel and who knows what else.

And now for the most exciting news, the exciting yet absolutely terrifying news that is going to ensure that my life will never be the same again.

Zombie and I are going to be parents.

We decided the time was right a while back and much quicker than we expected, I fell pregnant.  I am due early July and already I can’t wait.  I’m petrified and ecstatic all at the same time.  I have absolutely no idea what is going to happen, but I am ready and I have never been more impatient for something to happen in my life.

Zombie made a wee picture to announce our news to our friends on Facebook.  He’s quite the gamer so of course it was game related.  I like it too, even if it is a little obscure.

image

So all in all, an interesting year ahead of me, but I can’t wait to experience every minute of it.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

23 thoughts on “Excitement Rising

  1. Katie, what wonderful, wonderful news: your opportunity to grow and learn as a writer and the wondrous experience of being a mother. You have learned so much about yourself and the human experience and taken such a kind and forgiving approach to changing yourself that I am certain you will be a good, understanding mother. This post made my day! And I have a favorite gamer niece so I think Zombie’s announcement is very clever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, as I mentioned I am very excited on both counts. Of course I worry about how I will do at being a mother but as they say, there’s no manual!

      Like

Leave a Reply

