In Your Own Backyard

I’m on holiday for a couple of weeks and absolutely loving it. For the first few days, I didn’t do a lot. I went to a BBQ with friends, spent some time with my mother and Godmother and did a lot of relaxing. I quickly got into holiday mode and it was just what I needed.

This weekend we’ve had some Zombie relatives over from Aussie, which is the part of my time off I was looking forward to the most. Partly because we don’t get to see them very often and also because it meant getting out of town for a bit. Zombie Dad lives near a small town about an hour out of Christchurch so a holiday home was rented near there, which means goodbye busy city for a few days. Yay!

It’s times like these that I’m reminded just how lucky I am to live in New Zealand. I’m not far from home, yet I’m in a completely different world from my day to day life. It’s peaceful, which is a nice change from living on a busy street, the air is fresh and the smells are wonderful too. A mixture of different trees, flowers and farmland smells, it’s a sensory explosion that’s a welcome change from the exhaust fumes that I’m used to.

We’ve taken full advantage of the holiday, getting out and about to see all the sights this great country has to offer.

image

First stop, the Springfield donut for a bit of clowning around.

image

A small creek next to the visitors center at Arthur’s Pass.

image

Why did the Kea cross the road?

image

On a bridge, facing east, on The Devils Punchbowl walk.

image

The same bridge, the same time, this time facing west. I found the contrast in the weather incredible. We were situated where the two patterns met, a battle against strong winds carrying mist with them, whilst in the bright hot sunshine. It was almost as if the two patterns were fighting each other, one minute I was cold and damp, the next I was too hot and almost instantly dried out. Not something I’ve experienced before.

image

Snow on the mountains even though summer is well and truly here.

image

One of the many flights up to reach the waterfall on The Devils Punchbowl walk.

image

I didn’t make it up, my asthma was playing up, I still got some amazing views though!

image

I also explored the neighborhood I was staying in. A sleepy little town, no shops at all, just houses and paddocks.

image

Lots of small groups of sheep in peoples front yards were interested in this stranger walking past.

image

Plenty of interesting wooden art to see scattered about the place.

image

Treehouse or fireman’s pole?

image

I made friends with this guy.

image

All the while, surrounded by hills and farmland.

I love my country, I’ve only been overseas once and while I would live to travel more again, I especially enjoying exploring my own country and enjoying the amazing sights and experiences it has to offer.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

8 thoughts on “In Your Own Backyard

    1. Thanks! I’m definitely not a photographer but I felt that turned out alright considering they were taken on my phone ☺

      Like

  1. I’m in a similar situation, living in a city (that economically not doing so well), but without driving too far, I can be in the woods, far away, as you say, “the fumes.” Lovely post — a great reminder that exciting and splendid experiences aren’t that far away. No flying on airplane to get a place where memories and relaxation can be found.

    The two views from the bridge is pretty remarkable, witnessing the forces of nature “battle” one another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

