How Did I do 2015?

What a year!  One day left in it and I can honestly say, I’m exhausted!  It’s been a big year, so much has changed and gone on.  I’ve got two weeks holiday coming up and I absolutely can’t wait, just one more day of work to go then two weeks with no alarm.  What could be better than that?

Tomorrow is the last day of 2015 and it’s the first year where I really feel like I’ve done myself proud.  I’ve had a year of ups and downs, so much has gone right and probably the same amount has gone wrong, but I have come out the other side of all of it a better person.

Not long after I started this blog I posted Goals and Whether You Should Keep Them about my ten goals for the year and today I thought being so close to the end of the year, what better time to review how I’ve done.

Goal One: Become debt free.

I’m not 100% debt free, I still have my student loan, but I no longer have any outstanding bills, hire purchases or other debts.  Considering that it’s been a tough year financially for me, I am very proud of this fact.  I just about cried the day I paid my car off!

Goal Two: Read at least one book per month.

I read three books this year.  I was just too busy and there was a period of a few months where my anxiety was way too high and it is almost impossible to read when that happens.  I probably read more books last year, but I’m still okay with not achieving this goal.  I have instead improved my writing skills, read a lot of different blogs and learned so much from them.  And, I got accepted into a writing course for next year, where I will have a published author be my mentor and get the opportunity to advance my skills further.  I think my aim to get published one day is getting closer to becoming a reality!

Goal Three: Complete a full elimination diet.

I did this and it was the best thing I’ve ever done for myself.  If you’ve been following me for a while you will know just how life changing this was.  I have way too many posts on this to reference them, but there is an Elimination Diet section on this blog.

Goal Four: Run the entire City 2 Surf of 14 km.

wpid-img_20150322_120125.jpg

Cross this one off the list, I exceeded my expectations that day!  Up until the race day I had only run about 5-6 km in one hit so you can imagine just how ecstatic I was when I crossed the finish line, having jogged the entire distance.  I wasn’t even sore the next day (thanks yoga).

Goal Five: Be able to do the splits.

Unfortunately, this is still a way off, but not for lack of trying.  I think the amount of walking and jogging that I do is a factor, as this shortens the hamstrings, however I am closer to being able to do the splits than ever before.  I will be continuing this attempt into 2016.

Goal Six: Bike to work at least once a week (unless raining).

No, this did not happen.  I did bike a lot, way more than last year, but not once a week. I also took the bus and walked the 3km from the bus stop to work a lot more as well.  Part of the reason behind this goal was to save money on petrol, which I definitely was able to do.

Goal Seven: Volunteer time to a cause each month.

I’m sorry to say that I didn’t do this one.  I did however raise over $300 during Junk Free June for The Cancer Foundation, raised $150 during Movember for the Movember Foundation and a friend and I dressed all in pink one day and spent the afternoon collecting for the Pink Ribbon Street Appeal as part of Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  This was more volunteering than last year, which is a good start.

Goal Eight: Learn ‘Lonely Day’ (SOAD) on my guitar.

I still haven’t picked up my guitar.  My free time has been focused more on writing.  Maybe one day.

Goal Nine: Fit comfortably into my goal pants, dress and jacket.

This is a bit of a pass and fail. I achieved this by the end of March, which was very exciting, however it isn’t something I was able to maintain for the entire year (see here).  I did manage for most of the year though and I am still wearing my goal jacket, so this is more of a win than a fail.

Goal Ten: Be grateful, stay happy.

If you read my post Gratitude and Family, you will know that I have achieved this. I am the happiest I have been, ever. This is in part due to all my achievements, but it is also a side effect of being grateful. I seriously recommend gratitude.  I still have my low days, more than I should have lately, but I can always find something good in every day and that’s pretty awesome.

When I started this blog at the beginning of the year, I had no idea that the person writing the last post of the year would be completely different, both inside and out.  I didn’t think it was possible to have this many positive changes in such a short space of time, but it is.  I haven’t achieved everything I set out to, but I haven’t given up and I already know of a few great things in store for me in 2016.

I hope you all have a wonderful new year, no matter how you are celebrating and hope to see you back here next year.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

6 thoughts on “How Did I do 2015?

    1. Thanks, I think I was just in the right head space last year, which certainly helped. I’d never set goals before either, but having them written down and using them as opposed to resolutions certainly helped too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

