3 Days, 3 Quotes, Part 2

I was nominated by some wonderful fellow bloggers, Elusive Trope and From Crazy With Love for the 3 days, 3 quotes challenge and here is my day two, with another song quote.

This time I’ve selected the verse and chorus from the song Butterflies and Hurricanes by my favourite band, Muse, these lyrics written by the front man Matt Bellamy.  This is another one of my, ‘this is my favourite Muse songs but I’d probably say the same thing about half their songs…’

Change everything you are
And everything you were
Your number has been called
Fights and battles have begun
Revenge will surely come
Your hard times are ahead

Best,
You’ve got to be the best
You’ve got to change the world
And use this chance to be heard
Your time is now

I always liked the lyrics in this song.  The second verse is the same as the first, but with more feeling.  The entire song sounds like an ascension, the vocals and music starting out softly, getting louder and more complex with each line until BOOM! Piano solo.  It’s absolutely fantastic.

But I digress.

Change everything you are
And everything you were
Your number has been called

I relate to this song a lot more this year than any other year, being the year that I’ve changed everything I was for the better.  Of course it started out slowly towards the end of last year, but I guess you could say that when I hit rock bottom, my panic attack at work last year, that was my number being called.

Fights and battles have begun
Revenge will surely come
Your hard times are ahead

Like anything in life, nothing comes easy and becoming a happy and healthy person certainly has had it’s ups and downs, I assume it always will, but fighting the downs and hard times is something that I have the power to do, therefore I will .

Best,
You’ve got to be the best

This probably touches home more than any other line in the song.  I wouldn’t go as far as saying I have to be the best, to me that just seems impossible, but I sure can relate to it in the sense that when I don’t do as well as hoped or planned, I do feel like a bit of a failure.  Another thing I am working on.

You’ve got to change the world
And use this chance to be heard

Small changes every day is the only way we are going to change the world.  I don’t for a second believe that one person can do it alone, but I do believe that by sharing my struggles, successes and things I’ve learned along the way, that I might be able to give some people hope.  I’ve certainly learned a lot and been given a tonne of hope from reading other peoples blogs who have had similar experiences.  This is my chance to be heard and I’m using it.

Your time is now

Now.  Just now.  There is no time like the present for us to take opportunities and enjoy life.  I spent far too long not enjoying life, so these days I try to take every Now that I can.

If you want to hear the song, I’ve included it here.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

5 thoughts on “3 Days, 3 Quotes, Part 2

  1. The lyrics and your take on them so true. And your relating them to your own life just shows how if we use poems, lyrics, etc as an opportunity to reflect on ourselves, they can be a wellspring of insight and self-awareness.

    When I came to the line “Revenge will surely come” — I thought about how the revenge for trying to change myself may be instigated by myself. The old “self-sabotaging” and what I call the “daily minor self torture routines.” That part of us that attempts to punish ourselves for trying to change for the better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I struggled to articulate my thoughts on “revenge will surely come” but you have been able to do what I couldn’t, it’s almost as if you were inside my head and able to unjumble the thoughts whirling around regarding this line. Thanks for the input,

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

