#Loveme Day Thirteen: Share a Quote

I often have trouble with this topic. I share quotes on Instagram all the time, but it’s usually because I’ve seen it on someone else’s feed and related to it which made me want to share it myself, not because I’ve gone and sought a quote out. There are thousands of wonderful heart warming little positive quotes out there, messages that can pull me out of a funk instantly or even just remnind me why I’m heading down the path to health and happiness.

image

There is one quote however, that I have been reciting to myself a lot lately. It’s very relevant to me at the moment and I think it’s one of the most important phrases I’ve ever come across:

The people who mind, don’t matter and the people who matter, don’t mind.

image

I think this has evolved from a Dr Seuss quote, but the lesson in it will always ring true and it’s pretty self explanatory.
I’ve spent a lot of my life worrying about what people think about me and say behind my back. One of the main reasons I worry about what is being said about me, is because I don’t want people thinking badly of me. If someone is spreading rumors about me, which has happened to me more times than I care to remember, people might believe them and think that I’m a terrible person.

This is a genuine fear of mine. However it’s something that I have been working on overcoming this year. Because no matter what I do, people are going to think what they want about me. Whether it’s true or not, I have no control over other peoples opinions. And that’s okay. I have some wonderful friends who accept me for who I am and have never bought into the crap that has been said about me in the past or may be in the future. These are the people that matter to me, so who cares what anybody else thinks.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

Leave a Reply

