#LoveMe Day Eleven: Share A Smile

I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to share a picture of me or someone smiling, or of I was supposed to share something that makes me smile. I decided to go with someone that makes me smile.

image

People who know me, or who have read a lot of my blog posts, will know that I am literally obsessed with Instagram. I am on there every single day. I post a lot of pictures of all different things, all related to my health and happiness, but realistically probably too many pictures. I post pictures of my food, workouts, motivational quotes and also a lot of pictures of me doing yoga.

It’s through yoga on Instagram, that I connected with a woman in Colorado who I shall call Lioness. Her profile is mostly yoga pictures, daily photos of her in specific yoga poses for IG yoga challenges she is completing. I do these challenges too, although due to the amount of photos I post I tend to keep it to one challenge per month. It’s a good way to make sure that I have at least a little yoga practice each day, a way to connect with people around the world and get feedback on how I’m progressing and there’s also the chance to win a prize every now and then which is pretty cool.

As soon as I discovered Lioness, I gave her a follow. She posted pictures of herself doing yoga in her onesie, that sealed it for me. Over the next few months we commented on each others pictures occasionally and I began to really look forward to seeing her posts.

In April this year, a new kind of IG yoga challenge popped up. The Twinning Challenge. The idea was to snap a photo of your yoga pose as usual, but to edit it with your ‘twin,’ someone you had connected with. You didn’t have to have met, you just had to like each other basically.

I wanted in, and I wanted Lioness to be my twin, so I asked her and I was so pleased when she agreed! So we completed the ten day challenge, taking turns to edit the photos, emailing back and forth getting to know each other better and having fun in the process. I began to look forward to emails from her, wondering what she had come up with and what she was going to say to me.

Since then, Lioness and I have become very close. We have a mutual love of yoga and fitness but also many other things in common. She is very patient with my tendancy to get overwhelmed and stressed out by silly things, like my pose not being perfect or if I’m feeling stressed about a situation and can always calm me down. We have also completed a second Twinning Challenge and are currently part way through our third!

image

We are modern day pen pals. We have become friends on Facebook and also have connected on all the fitness apps we use. She came up with another nickname for us, Time Traveling Super Ninjas, as I live about 16 hours ahead of her. We live on opposite sides of the world and there is a chance we may never meet in real life. But I love hearing from her and she can always be counted on to put a smile on my face.

I have some great friends who make me smile, Zombie, Neens, my family and plenty of others and I’m excited that I’ve added Lioness to the list.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

2 thoughts on “#LoveMe Day Eleven: Share A Smile

Leave a Reply

