Cheesy Chickpea Balls

It’s my first official day off the elimination diet, but old habits die hard and I stuck at eating all unprocessed foods prepared by myself. But that’s my intention. I’ll be having the occasional treat/cheat, but sticking as best as I can to The 80/20 Rule as I’ve started learning to listen to my body. Basically, when I’ve been eating too much crap, I’ll know, either by my skin flaring up, headaches, tiredness… If I don’t feel amazing, it’ll be time to look at what I’ve been eating.

I’m on holiday at the moment. It’s my birthday week (I’m like a child) and I almost always take the entire week off to celebrate. There are no plans, It’s just a week for me to have a break, have some me time and do whatever I want. And I intend to.

Of course I’ll be spending quite a bit of time in the kitchen and today, being the first official day of my holiday, was no exception.

It’s another vegetarian dish this week, I’m still playing Meat Free Monday and absolutely loving it, part of the reason being that I love experimenting in the kitchen. My first few Mondays without meat while still being on the elimination diet were a bit boring. Roasted vegetables with a poached egg seemed to be the extent of my vegetarian knowledge. But there is so much more that you can do! So I started branching out, beginning with homemade vegetarian pizza. It was good.

This is a day before grocery day recipe, which means using whatevers available in the fridge, freezer or pantry. It’s been a while since I’ve eaten chickpeas and I found a can in the cupboard, so there was my base sorted, boom! I quite often make chickpea fritters, but I wanted something crunchy today and here is the result.

As always this recipe is gluten and refined sugar free. It’s also nut free and obviously vegetarian. I had four balls as a main with kale chips and steamed kumara (sweet potato) but it would also make an excellent side or nibbles dish.

Cheesy Chickpea Balls

image

1 400g can of chickpeas
2 eggs
1 small onion, finely diced
1-2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tbsp turmeric
1 tsp chia seeds
1 tsp coriander flakes
1 tsp parsley flakes
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp cumin
1/2 cup grated cheese
1/4 cup gluten free flour (I used brown rice)
1/2 cup rice breadcrumbs (almond meal would also work)
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Preheat oven to 180℃

Drain and rinse the chickpeas and mash roughly with a fork

Add onion, garlic, chia seeds, coriander, parsley, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper, grated cheese and mix well

Add one egg and mix well

Using your hands roll generous desert spoon sized handfuls into balls. This made 10 balls for me

Heat the olive oil in a pan on medium heat.

In three separate bowls, place the rice flour in one, the rice breadcrumbs in another, and beat the 2nd egg into the third

Coat the balls in the rice flour first, this gives the egg something to stick to.

Then coat in the egg

Then generously coat with the rice breadcrumbs

Place the balls in the hot pan and fry for 3-4 minutes, turning often, to seal the coating

Line a baking tray or dish with baking paper

Place the balls on the tray and bake for 20 minutes, until golden brown, turning once.

These, were, yummy. And easy. Bit of prep but nothing major. Plus I have plenty left over for sides for other nights. I’m going to test out freezing them so I’ll update this post once I know how well it works.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

3 thoughts on “Cheesy Chickpea Balls

  1. Chickpeas and cheese are two of my favorite foods, so naturally this caught my eye. They sound fantastic! Happy birthday (week)! My birthday was last week, and I too kind of treat the whole week as a birthday. Life is too short to only celebrate a birthday for one day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

