Elimination Diet Done And Dusted

I am very pleased to announce that I have completed my elimination diet. It’s taken me seven months, which possibly is longer than it would for other people, but as I was going it mostly alone I wanted to be certain about everything.

I can’t express how life changing this diet has been for me. I’m not an advocate of diets, personally, I don’t think they work for long term weight loss, but I’ll make an exception for this one, mostly because it’s more of a lifestyle change than a diet.

I have gone from being overweight, lazy, unhealthy and unhappy, to being a good weight, full of energy, healthy and happy. I have made huge advances in my mental health too which is just as important to me as being physically healthy.

Now, I don’t specifically know what caused any of my symptoms. My eczema took a really long time to clear up. A few months! There were several reasons for this, stress being a factor, but I think also because there was just so much of it. All of my other symptoms, even ones I had thought were just a fact of life, were basically gone within the first three weeks of the diet, during the detox stage. These included headaches, constant tiredness, sleepless nights and stomach cramps.

Nothing that I reintroduced into my diet affected me in a negative way. Eggs, beef, dairy, nightshades, nuts, peanuts, soy, chocolate, oats, chickpeas, not a single food type gave me any reason to think they had been causing me issues.

In July I discovered that too much chocolate, made me tired and my skin a little itchy. I also discovered that too many peanuts made my asthma play up. This was a bit of a wake up call as I had been over indulging in both of these, which was also affecting my weight.

image
My skin and too much chocolate don't agree

After this I had a few processed treats. I had some bread which made my stomach cramp, and I attended a few gatherings where I ate some of the nibbles on offer, which seemed to have no affect on me. I also last week found that caffeine is way to good at keeping me awake now, so that is completely off the menu. I have no room in my life for self inflicted sleeplessness anymore.

I was beginning to think that I would never know what was causing my issues and for a little while I kinda gave up. For the most part I ate healthy, but I started letting processed treats slip in daily. And at first, nothing happened.

Then after a few days, my energy levels weren’t as high. Admittedly, I had a bad cold at the time, but it hadn’t affected my energy too much until.that point. Then, the headaches and sleeping difficulty started. Again, I thought it could be related to the cold.

When my stomach started cramping, I knew it wasn’t cold related and when my skin started flaring up I knew exactly what was going on. Too much processed food. I can’t pinpoint exactly which food it was, because I ate so much of it, but when I went back to basics for a few weeks, all my symptoms disappeared again.

I have taken to having a weekly ‘cheat day’. For all of August, I have eaten unprocessed food all week, then on Saturdays I have allowed myself a treat. My symptoms have stayed away and I’ve been able to enjoy the best of both worlds. I’m pretty excited about this. I enjoy eating healthily, meats and seafood, fresh fruit and vegetables, nuts, grains, oats and some dairy (mostly butter and cheese) and feeling the most alive I ever has as a result. I enjoy having a little control over my mental health and not having to worry about what I’m eating affecting my weight.

image

There’s a hash tag on Instagram, #JERF. It stands for Just Eat Real Food. It’s simple, and for me, it has solved a lot of my problems. I found out about using an elimination diet to discover food intolerances a few years ago, but didn’t have the will power to go through with it. It was too hard. But when I decided to commit, I was surprised at how simple just eating real food is. And I’m so glad I did.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

6 thoughts on “Elimination Diet Done And Dusted

    1. It certainly wasn’t an easy thing for me to do but the benefits far outweighed any negatives, which to be honest were mostly that it’s a lot more effort to not eat out of a packet! So pleased that I did it tho, good luck if you decide to do the same ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh I know, I was totally the same! I still have a love hate relationship with chocolate but I’ve found that most processed food doesn’t taste as good as it used to, which helps ☺

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! It’s getting a bit tough to find the right balance at the moment, but I’m working on it cos I figure I’ve come this far, there’s no point giving up now ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

