Be Inspired

Yesterday Zombie and I went to a friends house for a birthday party. It’d been a while since we’d seen them and we ended up staying long after the other guests had left and spent the evening catching up and having a good laugh together. It was a really good night and we’ve already made plans for another catch up soon.

Obviously there were lots of topics of conversation but the one that left the biggest impact on me was how impressed we were with my friend. Since I last saw her in February she has lost 14.5 kgs, which is an absolutely fantastic job. We have been friends for a long time and one thing we always shared was a desire to lose weight. In the past she was a lot more proactive about it than I was but still had very limited results.

When we last caught up, it was not long after I had started my blog and my elimination diet, but I’d already had some great success and she could see that. She was really happy for me and wanted advice for herself as well. I had no idea at the time, but that night apparently was a turning point for her. She said she was so inspired by me and  she thought ‘if Katie can do it, I can,’ so she did. And it’s true. If I can do it, going from a person who who had no desire to be healthy at all, to being the healthy and happy person I am today, then absolutely anyone can do it. She even introduced me to her personal trainer yesterday as ‘this is who I was telling you about!’ Which was a huge boost for me.

image

I left her place feeling incredibly inspired myself. If you’ve been reading recently you’ll know I’ve hit a bit of a slump lately, in part due to being very sick, but seeing my friend, looking amazing and so proud of herself really gave me a boost. Admittedly I did wake up this morning with no motivation (I just can’t shake this cold and it’s really draining me) but the positive thoughts were back, which is a change from the ‘I can’t be bothered’ thoughts and that is a really good place to start.

I am not responsible for my friends weight loss. She has worked really hard to get where she is, eating well, exercising even when she doesn’t feel like it and keeping the right attitude towards a healthy life, but to know that I inspired her makes me feel really good and I hope that she will feel just as good knowing that she has inspired me too.

image

Ultimately, that is what it’s all about. Getting healthy and losing weight is an individuals journey, we all go at our own pace and overcome our own struggles We do have to do it by ourselves, for ourselves, but having role models and people who inspire us certainly makes it easier. Instead of being jealous of each others success, we should celebrate it and then use that positive energy to fuel our own success.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

9 thoughts on “Be Inspired

      1. My pleasure. Every Monday I will be hosting at mostlyblogging.com. The site of the party changed.
        Send me your Email if you’d like me to add your Email to my mailing list.
        Janice

        Like

  1. Katie, it sounds like they two of you are the best sorts of friends: able to enjoy one another’s accomplishments without a shred of envy. You are lucky to have one another. I’m glad visiting her helped lift your spirits.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know just what you mean. Life is full of challenges but losing weight is probably one of the toughest ones. I agree that getting healthy and losing weight is an individuals journey,and that having role models and people who inspire us certainly makes it easier. This works both ways–or ideally it should. Being able to motivate and inspire someone else is one of life’s greatest joys! Thank you for sharing this inspiring post and amazing graphics with us at the Healthy Happy Green and Natural Party Blog Hop! I’m pinning and sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

