Mind Says Yes, Body Says No

It’s that time of year, colds and bugs are doing the rounds and it appears that they have targeted my workplace in particular, we’ve been dropping like flies for the past couple of weeks.

I haven’t avoided the bugs. Currently I’m experiencing the worst cold I’ve had in a really really long time. All energy is gone and my days have been filled with lots of tissues, sneezing fits, I seem to have lost the letter M and N from my vocabulary and today the sore throat decided to make an entrance. My glands are so swollen that it hurts to move my head and getting out of bed each morning has taken every ounce of willpower I have.

I think I might have Man-flu.

The thing I find really interesting though, is that my brain hasn’t stopped functioning. That’s probably a bizzare way of putting it, but it’s the best way I can describe it. In the past when I’ve been sick, that’s it, it’s all I can think about for the duration of the illness and any hint of motivation would be quickly replaced by the need to sit and feel sorry for myself. I’d spend my days dreaming of days when I wasn’t sick and knowing for absolute certain that I’d never be well again. It’s funny what we can convince ourselves of when we’re not feeling 100%

This time round is different though. I’m waking up every morning excited at the prospect of not being sick anymore. The excitement is quickly replaced by disappointment when my nose starts running again, but for once, im not feeling like all is lost.

I have to admit that getting through the last week has been difficult. My mind and my body seem to be at war with each other. My mind has all these plans and ideas that are just begging to be put into action, but unfortunately my body just can’t do it at the moment. It takes all the energy I have to get through the day, but I’m doing it positively. I’ve never been a positive sick person so it’s definitely made a nice change.

It is a shame, because this cold hit last week, just after I had decided to stop making excuses for not exercising, so unfortunately, I still haven’t gotten fully back on track. I am hoping to be able to do some yoga in the next few days though. I’m pretty sure that I’ve lost some of my flexibility over the past month, so I’ll need to work hard again to get it back if I want to reach my goal of being able to do the splits before the end of the year.

image

I do seem to be getting worse each day, which isn’t fun and I’m at the stage where tissues hurt and the skin around my mouth and nose is cracking from the constant stream, but my brain is sharp as ever and I’ve caught myself getting agitated a few times because I just want to get on with it. I’m being good though, one of the most important things I’ve learned this year is to listen to your body. And right now, my body wants rest, plenty of water, and healthy foods with lots of garlic and lemon involved.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

3 thoughts on “Mind Says Yes, Body Says No

  1. I am sorry your feeling like this. Hope you get better soon and yes listening to our body is really important, but sometimes we live such hectic life that we don’t stop to listen and we end so getting worse!
    Feel better 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

