Chicken And Kumara Curry

The thing I love about winter, is the food.  It’s the perfect time to have thick, warming soups, hearty roasts, tasty casseroles and creamy curries.  Some of my favourite veggies are in season this time of year, like kumara (sweet potato for my non Kiwi readers), pumpkin and yams (Oca) which means they are way more affordable than in the summer time.  I’m definitely a seasonal shopper, it’s a lot easier on the budget!

I’m quite a curry fan.  Unfortunately for me, since being on my elimination diet, I can no longer handle spicy food like I used to be able to.  I can still have a bit of spice, but what I find hot nowadays I would have barely been able to taste back in the day.  So this prompted me to find milder curries to enjoy and I’ve managed to adapt one that I think is just perfect.

Chicken and Kumara Curry

image

I started eating this curry after I reintroduced butter into my diet.  It’s still unprocessed, gluten free, healthy, refined sugar free and it’s easy which I absolutely love for busy weeknights.  And the best part, it’s a flavour explosion!  I made this for my friend last weekend, who made the comment that she doesn’t like kumara, but she liked that meal.  That for me is a total win.

For 3 serves

300 gm chicken breast diced
50 gm butter
1.5 tbsp hot curry powder
1 onion chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 medium sweet potato, cubed
1 cup of broccoli florets (I like to chop them even smaller)
1 kale leaf, shredded
400 gm can coconut milk
Salt and pepper to taste

 

Heat a wok or frying pan on medium heat and melt the butter

Add curry powder and mix well

Add onion and garlic and gently soften for 2-3 minutes

Add chicken and stir fry until browned.

Shake the coconut milk can to combine the contents then add to the chicken

Add kumara and stir well

Cover and simmer on a low heat for 10 minutes

Add broccoli and kale and mix well

Cover and simmer again for a further 10 minutes, or until kumara is soft

Season to taste then serve

image

I like to serve this on brown rice or cauli rice, but it’s also nice by itself.  I’ve been eating this once a week for dinner and the leftovers for lunch ever since I first made it and I always get comments from my work mates about how nice it smells.  I’d share it with them but it’s too tasty for that!

Smiles and Sunshine

Katie

 

4 thoughts on “Chicken And Kumara Curry

Leave a Reply

