The 80/20 Approach

It’s been 5 days since Junk Free June finished there is a chance that I have overdone it since.

Ok actually not a chance, I have completely overdone it. I have eaten a ridiculous amount of chocolate And also way too much peanut butter and I don’t feel amazing. My skin and asthma are playing up and I don’t have a lot of energy. I’m not sick, I’m just slipping back into old habits. The kind where I eat and eat and eat, even if I’m not hungry.

As a consequence, I am noticing that my clothes aren’t as loose as they were. Nothing major, but if I continue down this track I will undo all my hard work. It’s not all bad, The difference this time round is I’m still sticking to my elimination diet, but there is just no way I should be eating this much chocolate and peanuts. Everything in moderation.

In weight loss and healthy eating, the general rule is that its 90% eating, 10% physical exercise and 100% mental. And this is totally true for me. When I’m not 100% committed my eating goes out the door which in turn causes my exercise to go out the window. I can’t have any of the components without each other.

But now that I am allowed treats in my diet I want to adopt a new rule (for me). 80/20. 80% clean eating, 20% treats.

image

It’s all about finding the right balance. I felt great all June, I wasn’t eating anything too much, I was just eating what I needed to. I wasn’t exercising quite as much as I should have been, but everything was on track. Towards the end of the month I decided to make my own peanut butter. The ingredients? Peanuts. I slow roasted them then blended them up until they resembled peanut butter and it is delicious!

So delicious that I’ve eating a lot more than my usual tablespoon a day. The first couple of days it didn’t matter. Then I started feeling bloated. Then my skin started to get itchy. Then tired and sore. Then Junk Free June finished and I started loading up on chocolate and my symptoms got worse.

I don’t want to backtrack, but I don’t want to cut out treats completely, so I just need to find the balance. My body is obviously going to tell me when I’m over indulging, so I need to start listening to it. This means not eating chocolate every day and limiting my peanut intake. And that’s where the 100% mental dedication is needed. Itswnot going to be easy to start with, but until I do I won’t be reintroducing any more foods into my diet.

80/20 means I’ll be able to have cheat meals eventually too which, will be nice. That’s something I haven’t done all year!

Anyone else eating 80/20? I’d love any tips on how to do it as I’m a apparently not too strong willed when it comes to chocolate as I should be.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

8 thoughts on “The 80/20 Approach

    1. That’s what everyone keeps telling me ☺. I’m determined to train myself in self control but in the meantime not having it around certainly is the best option ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have to keep high-risk treats (i.e. the delicious, hard-to-resist ones) out of the house too. It’s the only way. I tried to teach myself will power, but some treats are just too much to resist. So I have come to terms with my weakness and keep temptation away. 80/20 is a good goal to strive for.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been eating 80/20 for fifteen years now and my weight hasn’t changed beyond a pound or two in either direction while my energy has remained constant — and I still get to eat my must-have treats like chocolate, cake, and ice cream. The plan that worked for me was to eat healthily with correct portions and no snacks or treats from Sunday dinner through Friday lunch. Then from Saturday dinner through Sunday lunch I indulge my sugar craving (but still keep correct portions) without guilt. In the beginning I overdid the weekend treats, but with time I so much preferred how I felt over the weekend that I cut back on the indulgences. Following this plan is now habitual and it feels good not to always be thinking about what I’m going to eat.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a great idea of limiting it to weekends, I might have to give this a go because I was struggling to work out how much would be too much! I don’t want to miss out on my treats but my main concern is I don’t like how they affect my quality of life when I over indulge so I’m very keen to find the balance quickly and without guilt

      Like

Leave a Reply

