Ricotta Muffins With Kale and Bacon

A couple of weeks ago while I was drifting off to sleep I had a thought that I should make some breakfast muffins.  So I got up extra early the next day and experimented with Ricotta and I’m so glad that I did.  These were so yummy, surprisingly filling and ridiculously easy.  Not bad for something that came together in my head while I should have been sleeping!

These savoury muffins are gluten free, nut free and refined sugar free.  Light, fluffy and moist these are a delicious alternative for breakfast and would make awesome snacks and sides as well. And the best part?  They have bacon in them!  I successfully reintroduced bacon into my diet a few weeks ago and I have been adding bacon to as many of my meals as possible since because I love it so much (people who know me know I am actually obsessed with bacon).

Ricotta Muffins With Kale and Bacon

image

2 eggs
125 gm ricotta
2 tbsp coconut flour
¾ cup oat flour
½ cup olive oil
Pinch of salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 cup of kale, shredded thinly
1-2 bacon rashes, chopped up into pieces
1/2 cup grated cheese

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

Mix eggs, ricotta and oil well.

Add in flours, salt, baking powder and chia seeds, mix well.

Mix in kale, bacon and cheese

Grease a 6 cup silicone muffin mould well.

Divide mix evenly between the cups.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, until cooked through.

image

These are best served warm, they reheat really nicely in the microwave.  They freeze well so are a good idea for meal prep too.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

One thought on “Ricotta Muffins With Kale and Bacon

Leave a Reply

