No Bake Coconut Lemon Slice

Last week I reintroduced butter into my diet.  I don’t eat bread anymore so there hasn’t been a lot of need for me to have butter this year, but I do like to use it in some of my cooking as I find it adds a nice flavour.  After a few days of having a little bit of butter each day with no reactions, I decided that it was time to do some baking with it!

When I was little mum did a lot of baking.  She made all sorts of goodies, my favourite being ‘nanas chocolate fudge’ but she also made some that I wasn’t so keen on, like Citrus Slice.  I just couldn’t for the life of me work out why anyone would want to eat a biscuit that didn’t have chocolate in it.  Honestly, I thought she was crazy.  Sorry mum!

I’ve grown up a bit since then.  To be honest, I would have turned my nose up at a citrus slice even a few years ago, but since being on my elimination diet and with Junk Free June this month, I’ve had to branch out a little bit.  And it’s been good for me, my treats are no longer solely chocolate based! So with mums slice in mind I decided to see what I could do and I have to say I’m really happy with the result.

I posted a picture of these yesterday on my Instagram and Facebook pages and I have to say I’ve never had so many requests for a recipe, so I’m sharing due to popular demand. So excited that I can actually say that!

This is a gluten free and sugar free no bake slice reminiscent of mums Citrus Slice that I never used to like as a child.  I think I may finally be a grown up!

No Bake Coconut and Lemon Slice

image

For the base:

10 dates, soaked in hot water for 20 minutes
50 gm melted butter
½ cup almond meal
¼ cup coconut flour
A few drops of liquid stevia (to taste)
Juice of 1 lemon

For the icing/curd:

Juice of 1-2 lemons (depends how strong you want the lemon taste)
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
50 gm butter, cubed
3-4 drops of liquid Stevia (to taste)

Coconut flakes and/or lemon zest to garnish

 
Line a loaf tin with baking paper.

Whisk the lemon and egg and stevia for the icing together in a small saucepan.

Turn the heat onto low and add in the butter.

Stir until butter is melted.

Turn heat up to medium and stir continuously until the mix thickens, it should be quite thick and not too runny.

Push the mixture through a sieve to remove any eggy bits and set aside.

In a food processor or blender mix all base ingredients well. If the mixture is too wet a little more coconut flour.

Press dough into the lined loaf tin.

Spread icing evenly over.

Top with coconut flakes and/or lemon zest.

Put in the freezer for 2 hours to set before cutting.

 

This slice can be stored in the fridge as it gets a little soft at room temperature. I hope you enjoy this as much as I do and as always would love to know what you think of it.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

 

 

19 thoughts on “No Bake Coconut Lemon Slice

    1. Hey hun! I would use oat flour next, can you have that? You would just need to keep an eye on how moist or dry it is. Too dry, add more butter, to moist, add more flour 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome! I should be good with that, will def attempt these this weekend and let you know how it goes. Hope they look as good as yours! So impressed with all your creative recipes, you are doing such a fabulous job, proud of what you’ve accomplished and how you’ve stuck to it. Way to go you!!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Hermione! I’ve been struggling to not scoff them because they really are delicious ☺. I hope you and your sister enjoy them, I’m sure the cashews will add a nice flavour too ☺

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You are too kind. Lemon is a flavour that has grown on me this year and these definitely stepped that growth up ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

