Kumara And Leek Soup

Winter is here and that means lots and lots of soup is on the menu.  I practically live on soup in winter, it’s easy to make, tasty and keeps well in the fridge for a few days or the freezer until needed, which is just the kind of on the go meal I like.  And the flavour combinations are endless!

Over the weekend I made a very simple but incredibly tasty Kumara and Leek soup.  I wanted to make an alternative to Potato and Leek, since my Elimination Diet doesn’t allow potato yet and of course kumara was what came to mind.  For my non kiwi readers, kumara is the Maori word for Sweet Potato and what it’s commonly known as in New Zealand.

I eat a lot of kumara and I absolutely love the sweetness and the texture.  I usually eat it in chip form, either baked in the oven or par boiled then grilled and on these occasions I use the orange kumara, it’s the sweetest and my personal favourite of the three, but for the soup I wanted to use the red kumara for the colour and flavour.

Kumara And Leek Soup

image

1 leek halved and sliced
2 garlic cloves crushed
1 tbsp coconut or extra virgin olive oil
700 gm red kumara peeled and cubed
2 cups stock (I used homemade chicken stock)
2 cups water
½ tbsp cinnamon
Salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a large saucepan on medium heat.

Sweat the leeks and garlic for 2-3 minutes.

Add water, stock and kumara.

Cover and bring to the boil.

Simmer for 20 minutes or until kumara is soft.  Remove from heat.

After soup has cooled for a while, blitz using a stick blender until creamy.   If the soup is too thick you can add more water at this stage.

Season to taste.

image

If you don’t have a stick blender, you can blend in batches in a blender or in your food processor.  I serve my soup with some homemade gluten free bread but again, the possibilities for sides are endless here too.

Smiles and Sunshine

Katie

This post is shared at Healthy, Happy, Green & Natural Party Hop

2 thoughts on “Kumara And Leek Soup

  1. I love learning the Maori word for sweet potato! I like to include healthy, nutritious soups in my diet in a variety of ways and dishes, so I am delighted that you shared your wonderful Kumara And Leek Soup recipe with us on the Healthy Happy Green and Natural Party Blog Hop. I’m pinning and sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

