My Radio Interview on Mental Health and my Blog

I’m pretty nervous today, but excited at the same time. A couple of weeks ago I stepped way out of my comfort zone and participated in a radio interview.

It was organized through MHAPS, where I attend mental health support groups and courses. They run a weekly radio show called Quiet Minds on Plains FM 96.9 with the aim of raising awareness and helping people through. They interview a range of different people, from addiction services workers to people like me who are getting a hold on their mental health.

image

I was incredibly nervous about doing the interview. I don’t like the sound of my own voice unless I’m singing and I was worried about stuffing up, saying something stupid or freezing up completely. The show is pre-recorded which I am grateful for, it meant that if there was anything I was concerned about we could have a do over. That didn’t settle my nerves in the hour before the interview though!

I was interviewed by Phil, a peer support worker at MHAPS who I have met a few time before in different groups. We had a guideline list of questions but after the first few minutes I felt like we were just having a conversation which certainly helped. We discussed my experience with depression, how I use food and exercise to help me and of course my blog.

The 26 minute interview has aired now and I’m sharing it with you here

I am really proud of myself for doing this. It was well out of my comfort zone but I felt surprisingly good after, almost like adrenaline. It’s not something I ever thought I would do, but I’m so glad I did.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

10 thoughts on “My Radio Interview on Mental Health and my Blog

  1. Inspirational! Well done. I find the way you can be so open really wonderful. Lots of people have a story to tell but never face that let alone begin to articulate it. It’s healing I guess for you and importantly others now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I do find it healing but it is also quite scary so it’s always nice to get some positive feedback. Cheers for reading 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

