June Challenges

I love long weekends. I really do enjoy my job, but an extra day off is always appreciated and just knowing that I don’t have to go to work on a Monday always gets me excited. It’s Queens Birthday Weekend this weekend, the last public holiday until October. That’s a daunting thought but it happens every year so we should be used to it. It’s also the last day of the month today which means new challenges start tomorrow!

Today marks the final day of my 60 Day Splits Challenge on Facebook. I still can’t do the splits, but I am closer than I was two months ago so I’ll be keeping that up. I have progressed in a lot of my yoga stretches because I was focusing on them so much more so I feel more flexible for it.

image

Today was also the last day of #fit4freeSundays at my favourite gym, Les Mills, so I made it count. My best friend and I went and smashed out three classes and I can tell you now I will have sore abs tomorrow! Not that I have abs, I have a keg haha!

Next month, also known as tomorrow, I am starting three new challenges, all of them 30 day challenges. I was only going to do one as I don’t like to bite off more than I can chew but I’ve added two more in the last two days in the hopes it will keep me motivated. It’s getting really cold and I find it much easier to stay in bed instead of getting up early to exercise when it’s cold, so I’m hoping these challenges will keep me accountable.

The fist challenge is an Instagram yoga challenge, called #Negative2positiveprana.

image

The idea of this challenge is to add the daily pose into your practice for at least that day, take a photo of you doing it (or attempting to) and then post it to Instagram. In the caption you are invited to share something negative in your life and how you are turning it into a positive, or something that has happened that you can now see the positive of. It might sound a little strange but I’m actually really excited about this. Part of my depression recovery has been about looking at situations in a different light and focusing on the positive so a daily reminder will be a great addition to my recovery.

The second challenge is a 30 day squat challenge on Facebook, it’s about endurance and toning. Tomorrow I need to work 50 squats into my workout, which I do most days anyway, but it gets harder. The thirtieth day I’m supposed to do 250 squats! Each day has a target number except for the seven rest days, to help you work up to the 250. I tried this one a few years ago and didn’t make it to the end, but this time I will.

My third and final challenge for June is a challenge that I am very excited about, #junkfreejune.

image

This challenge is a nationwide fundraiser for the month of June. The idea is to cut out junk food for the entire month and raise money for The Cancer Society of New Zealand in the process. Due to my elimination diet I already don’t eat junk food, but as I mentioned in my post Berating Myself, I do eat far too much chocolate. It may have been a mistake to reintroduce this into my diet. So for the month of June I will be giving up all forms of chocolate (including cacao). My aim is to raise at least $200 for this cause and also to get back on track. Winter is the hardest time for me to stay healthy and active so this will be a huge help. Apologies to my Facebook followers in advance, I will be spamming my page with links to my sponsorship page.

If you would like to know more about Junk Free June you can do so here. If you would like to sponsor me you can do that here. I am also donating myself.

image

What are your challenges or goals for June?

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

2 thoughts on “June Challenges

  1. Hey I have an upcoming challenge called Tough Mudder – Google it if you can. It’s an epic 12 mile obstacle course and although incredibly hard immense fun. I did it last year in the UK and am flying back again to do another one in August.
    I haven’t started my focused training yet so I need to push on over the next month or it’ll be awful!
    Well done – keep it up for June. I’ll follow your progress.
    Laura

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey thanks, I have heard of that, a friend is doing it this year. It’s definitely on my bucket list ☺. Thanks for stopping by and the encouragement ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

