Recipe of the week: Chickpea Stuffed Capsicums

An absolute whirlwind of a week this week! The first three days flew by, I did 12 hour days at work to get as ahead as possible while training a coworker on how to do my job. I also had to rush job to get my car up and running again, new battery and a new tyre because we found a giant bolt in it!

Thursday we were supposed to get on the road early for our road trip. But as they do, the plans changed and I ended up spending Thursday in the kitchen prepping to stick to my diet for the road trip and then driving to Tekapo a lot later than planned. Zombie played in a social ice hockey tournament this weekend, his first time playing in 15 years! It’s been a lot of fun watching him, taking photos, helping him out with getting ready, I was a full on WAG this weekend and it was a lot of fun. Zombie was ecstatic to be playing again too!

We’re back home now but I still have another two days before I have to go to work which is great. Tomorrow is for relaxing, we are absolutely exhausted! Zombie is mostly because of the amount of hockey he played (he’s hobbling round like an old man). I actually don’t have a decent excuse other than traveling takes it out of ya!

I’m also excited about Tuesday. I am going to be doing a radio interview about my mental health and recovery. I’m very very nervous about this, but also excited. A few years ago there would have been no chance of me having the guts to even tell people about my mental health struggles. I had told people in the past before, sometimes with negative results and it really set me back so I started hiding it. But I’m all about getting it out there now and this is another way to do that.

But onto this weeks reintroduction: Chickpeas! A versatile legume, I use these in stir fry, casseroles, soup, fritters and the flour can be used in so many more ways, so I’m pleased to be putting these back into my diet and as I’ve had no negative results, I will be.

Chickpea Stuffed Capsicums

image

Since being on my elimination diet, I’ve been playing Meat Free Monday and I’ve loved having the chance to get creative with vegetarian meals. I’ve been wanting to try a stuffed capsicum for a while, and figured chickpea week was a good week to do it.

2 red peppers
3 tomatoes, chopped
1/2 can chickpeas, rinsed well
1/2 zucchini, sliced
1/2 onion, chopped
2 button mushrooms, sliced
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tbsp paprika
1 tbsp oregano
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 180℃

In a frying pan heat the oil on medium and soften the onion and garlic.

Add tomatoes, chickpeas, zucchini, mushrooms, paprika, oregano, salt and pepper.

Fry for 5 minutes until tomatoes are mushy.

Slice the tops off the capsicums and remove the seeds.

Fill the capsicums with the chickpea and tomato mixture.

Replace the tops, you may want to use a toothpick to secure.

Place upright in a baking dish and bake for 30 minutes, or until the peppers start to blacken a little.

I served mine with twice cooked kumara chips and a gluten free almond muffin.

It’s pretty early, but I’m off to bed now. It’s been a big week and I’m sure another big week to follow. Tomorrow I’m going to start eating berries again, I see pancakes with raspberry sauce in my future!

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

5 thoughts on “Recipe of the week: Chickpea Stuffed Capsicums

  1. Oh, yum! I must have collected a dozen stuffed pepper recipes over the years, and have yet to make one – but since I am so mad about chickpeas this may just be the winner! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

