Writers Block

Writers block. Grrr! I had it for years while I was depressed and since finishing my 30 day blog challenge I’ve discovered that it’s back. I have plenty of ideas of things to write about, but for some reason putting them into words is harder than it was a week ago.

I’ve started several drafts with working titles only to trail them off after a sentence or two. It’s frustrating because my brain is working in overdrive with all the things I want to share with the world yet I just can’t seem to find the words to get it out there.

It’s the complete opposite of normal for me. Usually I think faster than I can type (or write, I absolutely love the physical act of putting pen to paper, I find it really relaxing), so I often find that I’m writing out the words in shorthand just to fit all of the ideas in, before going back and editing and inevitably adding in more new ideas. It’s usually quite a lengthy process because I’m never quite done. Even after I hit the publish button I often want to make changes and add in bits and pieces here and there. My posts would be even longer than they already are if I let myself put in every single word that I wanted to.

And yet today, it’s taken me half an hour just to write these three paragraphs.

image

I have saved all the posts I’ve started, because this block will pass. I just hope that it is sooner rather than later.

If any fellow bloggers have any tips for getting past the writers block, they will be gratefully received.

Smiles and sunshine
Katie

4 thoughts on “Writers Block

  1. When attempt to write and feel stymied and unproductive, I stop, leave my writing area, take a quick walk or do some stretches, letting my mind wander free, then go back and try it again. Often its better. I’ve found the longer I sit and try the harder it gets; so quick, physical breaks help me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good idea, I tend to sit down and just try and then I get frustrated but getting away from it is such a simple idea that should help, thank you ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

