Recipe of the Week: Spiced Pumpkin Bread

It seems really strange that this is my first post in a few days. Friday night was particularly weird. No topic to write about, the first time in thirty days, it seemed so strange sitting down after a really long day at work and having nothing that absolutely had to be done. It was quite nice actually.

I’ve had a very up and down week this week and I’m actually struggling to stay positive today. Monday was a public holiday. ANZAC day was Mondayized this year (such a strange word). I’m not sure that I agree with the Mondayization of such an important day, but I have to admit that an extra day off was really nice. Until the evening when I started to feel sick.

Tuesday was just horrible. I felt absolutely awful all day. I had to call in sick to work which was scary, because my boss changed roles a few weeks ago and he was the only person who knew how to cover my job! I had started training someone last week but it was minimal training so I really didn’t want to not be at work. I went back on Wednesday expecting the worst but they did really well considering. I did have a very long three days though, the start of the month is always busy and I did two 11 hour days which was exhausting.

On Tuesday I also discovered that my car battery was flat, so it was the bus for me this week. I had a friend come over and double check everything yesterday and we put it on charge overnight. This morning it went fine but then I got stuck at the supermarket with it flat again.

It seems like everything happens at once and when you least need it. Car batteries aren’t cheap and it’s an expense I could do without at the moment. It’s definitely not the end of the world but with everything else that’s going on it’s a little disheartening. I’m still positive, but I’m certainly being tested at the moment and wouldn’t mind a break. Luckily I get one in a few weeks time!

Today marks the end of the 15th week of my elimination diet and a new food back into my diet. This week I added gluten free oats back in and it’s been one of my favourite weeks food wise!

I had oat flour pancakes, made chocolate and peanut oat cookies (work in progress), a banana oat bar inspired by fellow blogger Apple Jam Jelly, if you’re egg free you should check this out and I also made a successful bread that I even got to have a burger with! That I ate with my hands! I was so excited about the fact that I made a bread that didn’t require a knife and fork!

Spiced Pumpkin Bread

image

I was making my pancakes for breakfast on Monday morning when I thought up this recipe. I was halfway through the mixing when I noticed the texture wasn’t right for pancakes. I made some adjustments and fixed the problem, then thought, bread.

After a bit more thought, bread became pumpkin bread. After breakfast I got to work on it and had an immediate success. Admittedly this is not a typical bread, it’s soft, yes, but dense and it has no yeast. I’m using the term bread because that is how I ate it. I toasted it and made these grilled cheese sticks below with homemade tomato sauce, mushrooms, zucchini and cheesy goodness, and made a burger with it too.

image

200 gm crown pumpkin
2 eggs
1 cup gluten free oat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves

Preheat the oven to 180℃

Slice the skin off the pumpkin, cut into cubes and boil on the stove until soft.

Drain the water and mash with a fork.

Add the spices and mix well.

In a bowl whisk the eggs until well mixed.

Mix in the oat flour and baking powder.

Add the pumpkin and stir until combined.

Line a baking tin with paper. I used a square baking tin for this, because I wanted a flat bread. As it doesn’t rise much, use the tin of your choice. A loaf tin would work well for a taller bread.

Bake for 30-35 minutes. A knife test should come out clean.

This is nice cold or toasted under the grill. It tastes great on it’s own and the flavour is subtle enough to add many different toppings. I made a burger with some of mine, with mushrooms, onions, tomato, lettuce, cheese, beef and my homemade tomato sauce.

image

Zombie came into the kitchen at one point and asked if I was making Hot Cross Buns. The cloves give off a lovely aroma during baking.

Hope you enjoy this pumpkin bread. Next week I’m taking a week off from reintroducing foods. I won a health and fitness competition on Instagram from @dangerdoll and the prize included some low carb wraps. They have gluten in them which I already know I’m intolerant to, but I can handle small doses so I’m going to use them up in the first few days of the week then go back to my current standard eating to get the gluten out of my system.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

This post has been shared on the link party:

KitchenFun

4 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Spiced Pumpkin Bread

    1. Thank you for the recipe! I added in a tbsp each of cacao, coconut slices, flaxseed and sliced almonds and it’s delicious!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I miss yours too! I actually tried to write one last night and without a topic to get me going I couldn’t!

      Like

Leave a Reply

