Day Twenty Eight: My Most Embarrassing Moment

It’s day twenty eight one of Love Live Simples 30 Day Blogging Challenge, with My Most Embarrassing Moment.

image

I’ve had quite a few of these, but the thing is, I’m able to laugh about all of them, so they’re more what you would call mishaps than embarrassing moments.

Most of them have been while drinking, which is something I haven’t done for a really long time. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts I used to drink to excess most weekends and while I luckily never got myself into trouble, there were certainly some entertaining moments.

image

Me being silly while drinking.

I’ve chosen the following moment because it’s one of my favourites.

My friends and I often used to go to a local metal bar pretty much every Friday and Saturday night. We would meet at someone’s house, drink lots, talk rubbish then call up the courtesy coach to go and do some head banging. I always had a sore neck and ringing ears the day after, can’t imagine why!

On the night in question I had gone with a different group of people, including a friend of theirs who I had just met, Frew. We had been out for a while and I thought that Frew was playing pool with some people he had met at the bar.

Now I’m a very excited and friendly drunk, so the next part is not actually that unusual, well at least part of it anyway.

I kept looking over at the pool table because I’d decided that Frew and I had known each other long enough (apparently 4 hours was enough) for a hug. But I didn’t want to do it while the guy he was playing against was there. So I waited until said opponent went to the bathroom.

As soon as he was gone, I ran up to the pool table, said something stupid like, “I’ve been waiting so long for you to be alone so I can hug you!” And then hugged him.

He didn’t hug me back, because… It wasn’t Frew!

I realised my mistake pretty quickly and immediately felt really really silly, so I did the only rational thing. I ran away, back to my friends, who were now laughing at me. I explained to them that I thought it was Frew I had randomly hugged, but this just made them laugh harder.

The following week I was there again and so were the pool players. I was sober this time and decided an explanation was in order. So I introduced myself and explained. The guy I had hugged wasn’t that interested, but his friend thought it was hilarious! We became pool playing buddies after that and saw each other quite regularly at the bar. They couldn’t remember my name for a while so they nicknamed me Random Hug Girl.

The guy I hugged is Zombies best friend, who incidentally looks nothing at all like Frew. And of course Zombie was the friend he was playing pool with. Most of my ’embarrassing’ moments are laughed about later but never lead to much. About nine months after this one, Zombie and I started dating and now I am happier than I’ve ever been.

We joke about how it will be a good story to tell the grandkids. Personally, I love this moment, but it certainly did start out as embarrassing!

Smiles and Sunshine
Random Hug Girl

2 thoughts on “Day Twenty Eight: My Most Embarrassing Moment

Leave a Reply

