Day Twenty Five: My Biggest Regret

It’s day twenty five one of Love Live Simples 30 Day Blogging Challenge, with My Biggest Regret and I’m very torn about writing this!

image

I used to regret a lot of things. Pretty much everything. Every day was filled with missed opportunities, self loathing and forgotten dreams. I regretted not speaking up, defending myself when necessary, what I ate, what I did, starting smoking, moving out of home for the wrong reasons, the list could go on for a while.

I have been working very hard over the last year and especially the last seven or so months to change my minset on regrets. Without all these mistakes, I would not have been able to overcome them and self improve. I would not be The Happy Healthy Kiwi even, because my life would have taken a different path. Maybe it would be better, who knows, but eventually I learned from all of these things and moving on from them has been the drive behind how much I’ve achieved and succeeded in the last few months. Excuse my modesty haha!

I would have to say the thing I’m struggling to move on from the most is something that has plagued me for years and held me back in life. It still is to this day and will be for a little while longer, although not forever anymore.

I wish I hadn’t gotten myself into ridiculous amounts of debt.

I racked up hire purchases, got myself into rental situations I couldn’t afford, spent all my spare money on stupid things like junk food and alcohol instead of paying my bills and I’ve been paying the price, literally, for years since I’ve learnt from it.

I got sick and tired of having to say no all the time because I had no money, so about five years ago I made a budget, set up automatic payments and stuck to it. I wish I had done this sooner. My friends know me as always being broke. And it’s true. A lot of people think it’s because I’m bad with money but the truth is it’s because I used to be bad with money. Now instead of spending it, most of my pay goes onto making myself debt free. It wasn’t even until a couple of years ago that I myself realized I was no longer bad with money, because finally, loans and debts were diminishing and disappearing.

image

I will be debt free except my student loan by August this year. My student loan will be paid off early next year. And then I will be able to start pursuing new things that money has held me back from in the past. It is a good feeling to know this.

What’s your biggest regret?

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

5 thoughts on “Day Twenty Five: My Biggest Regret

  1. Thats awesome that your debts are all coming to an end – soon all that money can go towards exciting things that will leave you happy and with awesome assets or memories! I loved when you said ‘A lot of people think it’s because I’m bad with money but the truth is it’s because I used to be bad with money’. It’s such an important acknowledgement. Good work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Alissa! It took me a long time to realize myself that I was doing the right thing with money so I’m glad the sentencade sense! Thanks for the encouragement 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

