Recipe of the Week: Almond Pancakes

Another week down, they just fly by at the moment! This is the end of the 13th week of my Elimination Diet. 13 weeks of healthy foods, nothing processed (aside from a little cheese once it was reintroduced), no sugar, no gluten, no soy minimal nuts, minimal dairy, no bacon and absolutely no cheating. And I’m still going strong.

My sister and her partner were in town for a wedding for this week so we had a family dinner to celebrate on Thursday. As usual my wonderful mother cooked me a separate meal, which was much appreciated then I experimented in making a clean eating apple pie, with pastry and everything for dessert! Taste wise it was well received by all, but the pastry needed work. I will definitely be working on this though and hopefully will be able to share with you soon.

Today my sister, her partner and I went for a hike up the Rapaki track. Zombie was going to come with us until he realized the Red Wings were playing. They’re his favourite team so of course he was going to watch the game. I’m pleased to say the ascent was my fastest time yet, even though I haven’t done it for a while. Even faster on the way down, especially because she convinced me I should run down!

image

We refueled afterwards with some delicious almond pancakes, the recipe for which I’m sharing below. This weeks food reintroduction was almonds. I’m not sure about these. My eczema seems to be a tiny bit worse that previous weeks, but I have been overly anxious and stressed out this week about a couple of things that could also be a factor. These stresses are now gone as of Friday and my skin has seemed to calm down a little over the weekend (it takes a while to heal) so my first guess is that it’s the stress, which I’ve known is a contributor for a while.

Almond Pancakes

image

If you read My 10 Favourite Foods post, you would know that I’m absolutely obsessed with pancakes since being on my healthy journey. I love that I can eat pancakes and still be healthy and lose weight! It just takes a few tweaks here and there. This is a basic almond pancake recipe, that I have tweaked a little to my liking.

These pancakes are gluten free, dairy free and refined sugar free and low carb. For an egg free pancake please check out my Vegan Pancakes post, they are just as good.

Topping possibilities are only restricted to the imagination. In the picture above of this mornings pancakes I have topped with banana (I always have banana on my pancakes, it’s my favourite fruit), liquid honey, shredded coconut flakes, sliced almonds and some cacao nibs. In the picture below of the almond pancakes I had earlier in the week I topped with banana again, homemade apple sauce, shredded coconut and sliced almonds. You can add any fruits you want for different nutrients, berries are great too and even peanut butter!

image

I also recommend bacon. I can’t have bacon yet (my choice but grrr) but it goes damn well with pure Canadian maple syrup and pancakes.

1 cup almond meal (ground almonds, found in the bulk bins)
2 eggs
1/2 – 3/4 cup cold water
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 – 2 tbsp Extra virgin olive oil as needed.

Preheat oven warming draw.

In a mixing bowl, beat or whisk eggs well. The more you whisk these the fluffier your pancakes will be.

Add almond meal, cinnamon, salt and mix well.

Add water slowly to thin the mixture out. If should be the same texture as regular pancakes.

Heat a little of the olive oil in a pan on medium heat.

Spoon desired amount of batter into the pan in a circle. I usually use 6 dessert spoonfuls.

Heat until small bubbles appear on the top (not as many as regular pancakes) and carefully flip.

Heat until desired colour is achieved.

Place on a plate in the warming draw and repeat until all batter is used.

This makes about four pancakes using the 6 spoonful method which I find with the right toppings is the perfect amount for a post workout breakfast that keeps me going most of the morning. You can also make these ahead and freeze for a quick and easy breakfast later on. I often pull them out of the freezer the night before and when its time to eat I just throw them stacked in the microwave for a minute then top.

If you make these let me know what toppings you use, I’m always keen for new ideas.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

8 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Almond Pancakes

Leave a Reply

