Day Nineteen: My Favourite Movie

It’s day nineteen of Love Live Simples 30 Day Blogging Challenge, with My Favourite Movie.

image

Right so if you’ve seen my 20 Facts About Me post and Zombies comment on that post, you will know that compared to most people my age, I haven’t seen a lot of movies. In fact the more popular the movie, the less likely I am to have seen it. I didn’t go to the movies very often when I was a child or a teenager and by the time I hit my twenties everyone had seen the movies that I was suddenly hearing about.

In recent years, thanks to Zombie and a few friends being absolutely shocked (and some even upset) that there are all these fantastic movies I haven’t seen, so they’ve been making sure that I get to see them.

The problem with this is, in my opinion, it’s not the same as if I had watched them ‘way back when’. It’s not that I don’t understand them, I just often don’t understand the big deal. But the people watching them with me still get it, because its nostalgic for them. I do enjoy most of them though, so it’s all good.

I will discuss my favourite movie soon but I have to give an honorable mention to some as well:

image

The Sound of Music

I have seen this movie countless times and I absolutely love it. I can quote it from start to finish, even though I haven’t seen it for years. I would love to sit down and watch it again.

The Matrix Trilogy

Really enjoyed the first movie and absolutely loved the second movie. I was disappointed by the third, but it didn’t change my opinion of the first two.

Bad Neighbours

Loved this one! So many laughs, I was captivated from start to finish and would quite happily watch this again.

The Conjuring

I’m quite a horror fan. I don’t like gore movies, I find them difficult to watch, but horror and especially thrillers that make you think are a must see in my books. In particular this movie. I feel the director James Wan did a fantastic job on this one because he didn’t follow the typical ‘scare tactics’ that most horror films use.

Bubble Boy

I fell in love with Jake Gyllenhaal after watching this. He was so cute! And I loved Jimmy, the boy in the bubble and how happy he was despite everything life had thrown at him.

And now my absolute favourite movie:

image

The Green Mile

It’s not very often that a movie is as good as the book it’s based on, but I truly believe that this is one of the rare exceptions. The book is one of my favourites and I’m planning to read it again and the movie! Wow! Obviously there were plenty of pieces missing out of the movie from the book, but it didn’t matter like it often does in other movie adaptations.

It was well cast, with Tom Hanks, Michael Clarke Duncan, Doug Hutchison… Every character was similar to how I imagined them to be from reading the book and all very talented actors. I even had to look away during the scene where Del was executed because I found it horrendous!

I laughed, I cried, I was on the edge of my seat at some points, just thinking about it makes me want to watch it again!

If you haven’t seen this movie it is well worth watching. If you haven’t read the book I also recommend that. The only part of the movie that disappointed me was a spoken line from the book that was omitted in the movie. I don’t remember exactly who said it or when and unfortunately I don’t have a copy of the book to double check, but I can quote the line from start to finish and it cracks me up every time I think about it:

“I’m not your mother, but if I was I’d raise my skirts and piss on you from the loins that gave you birth.”

Hilarity.

Anyone else love this movie as much as me?

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

3 thoughts on “Day Nineteen: My Favourite Movie

Leave a Reply

