Day Sixteen: My Thoughts On Education

Today is day sixteen of Love Live Simples 30 Day Blogging Challenge, just over the halfway mark!

image

This is a tough one for me. Because simply put, I don’t have much of an education. I have however done pretty well for myself in life.

I left school part way during sixth form (it’s not called that anymore, but it was my 12th year). I literally just left. I was in town, I said to my friend if I miss the bus I’m leaving school. And I did miss the bus, so I left.

I was always told I would regret it but so far I haven’t. My only regret as far as school goes is that I didn’t get to go to my school leavers ball. However I know I wouldn’t have enjoyed it due to my inability to connect socially, so does it really matter?

I did pass my school certificate which is now known ad NCEA. This was in my 11th year and we had been drilled our whole lives about how important it was. I was even made to go to a counsellor afterwards because apparently my grades weren’t good enough, but considering I barely studied and still managed to get 2 A’s and 2 B’s and a C, I don’t think I did too badly.

After school I messed around a bit. I worked because at the time I didn’t want to live at home. I did a hairdressing course which none of my school subjects were a requirement for. I really enjoyed it, but I struggled with the social aspect of being a hairdresser so I quickly gave it up.

And that is the extent of my education. Very minimal. And for a while, I thought all I was good enough for was supermarket work and McDonald’s. Which is what I did for a long time.

Then one day, after moving back home from working in a supermarket in another city, I decided to see if I could get a slightly better job. The most useful qualification I had was a pass in Text and Information Management, nothing else.

I applied for two jobs. Both in customer services, both with office admin aspects. And I got both of them. I have to admit that I interview well. Out of all the interviews I’ve had (and there have been heaps) I’ve only been declined two jobs. Both of which I had a feeling was going to happen.

Since then I have worked in offices in several different companies and gone from strength to strength. I know I am a valued member of my current employer and they often ask me about adding new responsibilities to my job description. I get paid well, weekends off and work for a fantastic company doing something that I enjoy. I know a lot of people who spent years at University doing different studies who now work in retail. This would be a little upsetting for me but it can happen.

However, if I wanted to be a doctor, teacher, lawyer, anything like that then yes, education is essential. I mentioned in a previous post that I wanted to look into being a health and wellness coach or adviser. I certainly would need some education for that.

image

I believe that learning is important, but you don’t need an education to learn. You can learn about anything you are interested in by talking to people, going places, reading books, to some extent the internet, by trial and error, learning possibilities are endless and I personally take as many as I can.

So I guess all in all education is a good thing. I personally have done very well without it, but then my career choice, while it is a very intense job with lots to do and lots of knowledge required, most of the education and training can be done in house. It just depends what you want to do.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

6 thoughts on “Day Sixteen: My Thoughts On Education

  1. Completely agree that you don’t necessarily need an education to learn, I honestly learned more from my placements and being hands on than I ever did from a textbook or teacher. Way to go on being able to have a great job without the extra schooling. Loved this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A former educator who filled a variety of roles, I thoroughly enjoyed your reflections on education and agreed with the as well. For me, this sentence of yours “I believe that learning is important, but you don’t need an education to learn” seemed to sum up your philosophy, one that has served you well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lovely to hear from you! As I mentioned this one was difficult for me to write due to my lack of education but I’ve always been eager to learn so I wanted to express that. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

