Recipe of the Week: Clean Lamb Bolognese with Roasted Tomato and Capsicum Sauce

What a week! Short weeks are always busy I reckon but my weekend has been pretty jam packed too!

Today I attended a wellness seminar hosted by Girl On A Journey. Three Kiwi women shared their stories, all of it, from addiction to business success, teen pregnancies, mental health issues and loss of loved ones. Then they talked about how through healthy living they turned their lives around.

I have followed Millie from Clean Eatz NZ, Makaia from Motivate Me NZ and Libby from Julia & Libby on Instagram and Facebook for a while and to see them in real life, hear their stories and have a chat with them after was amazing. I got a little nervous but I shouldn’t have because they were so down to earth and normal! They even recognized me from my Instagram and when they saw me coming for the photo they called out to me by name and gave me huge hugs.
image

I’m a little bit fan girl over these three.

Blogging everyday has been more taxing than I expected too. I’m still enjoying it and I’m definitely keeping up with my 30 day challenge but it’s a lot more work than I thought.

Work is finally starting to calm down. They’ve hired a few temps to help take the load off which is really good. I felt like I had my own PA on Thursday and Friday. She completed four months of filing that I was behind on, helped me out with some of my daily tasks and was a great yarn too! So I’m feeling a lot less stressed which is great.

This week I reintroduced nightshades back into my diet. Nightshades are tomatoes, bell peppers, potatoes and eggplant. I don’t eat a lot of potato and eggplant so I kept it simple with just the peppers and tomatoes. So good to have sauces again! Also no negative reactions so they’re back on the menu 😁

This weeks recipe is Clean Lamb Bolognese

image

This was delicious and the leftovers just as good. Zombie even said it smelled pretty good. Usually he states the opposite about my meals. It’s low carb which means you don’t have to feel guilty about adding cheese if you want to!

It is a little labour intensive because you have to make the sauce, but the recipe I’m giving for the sauce is enough for three meals and you can freeze the rest for another day.

Sauce

16 tomatoes
2 red bell peppers
1 green bell pepper
2 tbsp basil
2 crushed garlic cloves
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 180℃

Line a baking dish with tin foil.

Mix oil, basil and garlic on the tin foil and spread evenly across.

Cut tomatoes in half and place cut side down on the foil.

image

Bake for 40 minutes or until the tomatoes are very soft.

Bake the peppers whole, without oil for 30-40 minutes until soft, turning regularly.

Allow tomatoes and peppers to cool for a little while.

Put the tomatoes in a blender and scrape as much of the garlic, basil and oil in as possible.

Chop the stalks off the red peppers and add to the blender.

Blend until smooth.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

If necessary add more oil and basil too.

Slice the green peppers and add to the sauce. I left these unblitzed for texture.

Divide into three portions. You can make this ahead and freeze if you want.

Bolognese

200 gm lamb mince
1 garlic clove crushed
1 onion diced
1 cup shredded spinach
4 button mushrooms sliced
2 tomatoes diced
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 zucchinis
Grated cheese to top

If you have a spiralizer, use this to cut the zucchini. If not, like me, very thinly slice the zucchini lengthwise into noodle like strips.

Heat 1 tbsp oil on medium heat in a pan.

Sautee onions and garlic until translucent.

Add mushrooms and tomatoes and sautee for two minutes.

Add spinach and sautee for two minutes.

Set aside.

Brown mince for 5 minutes.

Add back vegetables and mix together.

Add one portion of your sauce.

Stir well.

Cover and simmer for fifteen minutes.

Heat remaining oil on medium heat in another pan.

Remove the lid from the mince mix and simmer for another five minutes.

While this is happening sautee the sliced zucchini in the second pan until it is soft and bendy.

Place the zucchini on a plate like you would with spaghetti noodles and top with mince mix.

Top with grated cheese if desired.

This makes enough for two servings.

I’d love to know what you think if you make this. Like I said it’s a little labour intensive, but because the sauce makes three portions you can make it whenever you want, freeze it and get it out when you get your meat out.

Next week is my twelfth week of my elimination diet I’m testing almonds. I was going with butter but at the wellness seminar we got a heap of goodies, most of which I can eat bar the almonds. So that’s what’s happening next week.

image

What a ridiculous amount of goodies to come away from a seminar with. So excited to try all of these things!

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

12 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Clean Lamb Bolognese with Roasted Tomato and Capsicum Sauce

    1. Thank you, it is very yum! I’m a little OCD otherwise my tomatoes would be note haphazard. Very interested in Tell em Tuesday, are there specific topics? Thanks for stopping by 😁

      Like

    1. Thank you, it was so much fun and I learned so much. I’m pretty stoked about the nightshades too, they’re by far my favourite to use 😁

      Like

    1. Thanks! You’re so right about the spiralizer, I just only ever think about it at the time lol. Thanks for the link, I’ve got one in the way now ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

