Day Five: My Proudest Moment

Todays is day five of Love Live Simples 30 Day Blogging Challenge, with My Proudest Moment.

image

Lately I’ve had a lot of proud moments. I’ve lost 25 kgs, which is a huge achievement. I’ve stuck to my elimination diet for eleven weeks without a single slipup, which is no mean feat. And just two weeks ago I jogged nonstop for 14 kilometers which until recently is something I never thought I’d be able to do. Or even just today, when I tried on my goal dress for the millionth time and it fit!

These are some of the bigger things that have made me proud recently. I don’t really feel like I did a lot to be proud of until recently. Nothing that sticks in my mind anyway. A lot of that was to do with the fact that I was so depressed that all I did was work, sleep and then drink to excess on the weekends. But I’m well past that now. Now there’s something to be proud of.

I would have to say my absolute proudest moment was on January the 4th this year, when I realized something that I hadn’t thought about for a while. It was on this day that I suddenly remembered that it had been exactly nine months since I had had a cigarette (sorry mum for lying about it). I hadn’t even wanted one.

I started smoking when I was 16. Stupid I know, but I was so mixed up at the time that all my values went out the window. Up until that moment I was very anti smoking but I was so easily led that it was only a matter of time.

I then spent years and years trying to quit. I was the person who was always quitting and always failing after a few days. My first attempt lasted nine days. Every other attempt I was lucky to make it past three days. A few years ago I quit for five weeks but then I broke up with my ex and started again instantly.

I guess the timing was always wrong because this time round I just did it. On May the 4th last year, I literally just stopped. I haven’t wanted a cigarette since, even on my darkest day. I hardly even think about it anymore, even when I’m around smokers. Zombie only quit a couple of months ago and while he was an outside smoker, other smokers had always been my downfall with quitting in the past. Not their fault at all, I just wasn’t trying hard enough.

I am quickly approaching a whole year smoke free. I’ve put most of the money I’ve not spent on cigarettes into becoming debt free which is something I also thought impossible at one stage.

But when I reached the nine month mark and realized it wasn’t something I’d thought about for months, that would have to be my proudest moment.

image

This is a picture taken of my proud moment today. Five years ago I bought this dress with the intention of losing weight for it and today, it finally fits.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

6 thoughts on “Day Five: My Proudest Moment

    1. Thanks love! Zombie can attest, I’ve been bringing that dress out for every outing because it’s so cute and I just wanted to wear it. So pleased you like it cos I’m not the most fashion conscious person 💕. At the moment I’m a size 10 but it ranges across brands, thanks so much sis 💞💞

      Like

Leave a Reply

