Day Four: My Dream Job

Todays is day four of Love Live Simples 30 Day Blogging Challenge, with My Dream Job.

image

I’d like to start by saying I have had a lot of jobs over the years, some good, some bad, but out of all of them my current one is my favourite. For me it’s not about pay. I need to get paid obviously, but I’d rather be paid less doing something I like than getting paid lot’s doing something I don’t like. This is what some of the shittier jobs I’ve had have taught me. Lucky for me, I get paid pretty well and I love my job!

I have two dream jobs, one more realistic than the other, but both currently out of my reach. Nothing’s impossible though…

Dream one is to be a successful recording artist. I write my own lyrics (not so much lately) and melodies and have done since I was a child. The earliest I can remember doing it was age 14 (embarrassingly a song about how much I ‘loved’ Taylor Hansen) but I know there were songs before that too. I’ve sung them out loud but never to another person (anxiety gives me a fear of being judged). I can play the keyboard pretty well and a basic rhythm guitar but I’m not so good at composing music. Ideally I’d like to find someone to work with who can compose music and I can fill it in with lyrics and a melody.

I remember sitting at the breakfast table when I was a child. I don’t know how old I was, but I know I was in primary school. I told my mum I was going to be a famous rock star. I used to wander round the garden singing songs from movies I’d watched. My brothers and sister used to get annoyed with me, I remember they thought I was a terrible singer. But I was in several advanced choirs at primary school so I can’t have been too bad.

I have been in two bands since I left school. One was a hard rock group that played at a youth service once a month. The other was an Iron Maiden cover band. I was pretty good in the church group but it wasn’t where I wanted to be singing. Right style of music though. My voice isn’t suited to they type of music we played in the other band so it didn’t last very long, but I still had fun while I was at it.

I know that this dream is very unlikely, but I’m not ruling out more bands in the future. I’d like to perform again and I think I have a lot more confidence to do it now than I did when I was younger. Also more dedication.

My other dream job is to write for a living. I would like to write fictional novels specifically. Nowadays there is not a lot of money in this but I would still like to complete one and get it published. This is on my bucket list. Time is a factor though so it will take me a while.

I spent most of my free time writing as a child. My mum sent me to a workshop run by David Hill, who is a successful Kiwi author. We had to bring a piece with us for him to critique. Out of everyone in the group I was the only one who didn’t get any constructive criticism, just praise, which of course only made me want to write more.

I always did very well in any essay tests all throughout my school years and continued writing as I got older. It wasn’t until I hit my 20s and my most depressive years that I stopped. I do regret this, but I actually feel like I needed to go through the depression to be the person I am today.

I have written so many drafts but I really need to sit down write, edit and be satisfied with something and send it away. Most of my pieces are unread by anyone, another fear of rejection from anxiety, but I feel like I’m in a better place now to actually finish something.

image

In the meantime, I’ll write my blog for fun and I’ll sing along to all the music and annoy the people around me in doing so.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

4 thoughts on “Day Four: My Dream Job

  1. Your dreams are marvelous ones to have, and both involve writing; so you are at heart a writer. Starting a blog will help you develop your skill and build an audience. Don’t ever stop writing. You are too good at it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

