Recipe of the Week: Chocolate Coconut Slice

Sunday just comes around so quickly! Seems like just yesterday that I was on a high from running the City 2 Surf, yet that was a whole week ago now! I ran again for the first time today. I found it really hard to motivate myself without a goal so I’ve set myself a new one. I’m now aiming to get my average splits below 6 minutes, I’m currently sitting at 7 minutes 21 seconds. I haven’t given myself a time limit for this but it certainly got me going this morning.

I’m very pleased to report that I am finally getting close to being completely caught up at work. I still have a way to go, but it’s no longer a daunting amount of work left to do. I have a lovely workmate to thank for that, taking some of my workload off certainly helped.

I’m now reaching the end of my tenth week of my elimination diet. So far I’ve reintroduced eggs and cheese with no issues. And this week, I reintroduced chocolate, just in time for Easter!

I was worried about chocolate. A lot of people with eczema can’t eat chocolate because it flares up their skin. A lot of this is to do with the ingredients, so I chose carefully. Dark chocolate is also known as having antidepressant qualities so I made sure to choose by percentage too.

My skin did flare up a little on the first day. Of course this upset me. Intolerances for foods means that you can still eat them, but only as treats and only if you’re prepared to deal with the consequences, for example skin issues or stomach pains. I really didn’t want chocolate to be on this list of foods for me.

Lucky for me, the very next day my skin was fine. Relieved! I have a feeling that some of my eczema is stress related and because of my anxiety I do have a tendancy to stress easily. Not as much as I used to, but it still happens.

I’ve eaten a lot of chocolate this week, way more than I would in a normal week, but still in a healthy way. I had some right off the block, some in gluten free dairy free chocolate chip cookies, I made some chocolate Amazeballs (with little chocolate crosses on them so that I still get a ‘hot cross bun’ this year) and also popped a couple of pieces in a smoothie.

My favourite creation this week I’m about to share with you now. It was very hard not to scoff this. Even Zombie liked it! That means it’s good because even though he tries most of my creations, most of them are ‘too healthy’ for him and don’t get the tick of approval.

Chocolate Coconut Slice

image

It started out as an ice cream bite, but it was a little too icy, so I adapted it to make it a refrigerated treat instead.

This is gluten free, raw vegan and nut free, hopefully will tick all the boxes for a lot of people.

16 squares dark chocolate
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup coconut milk, refrigerated overnight
A few drops of liquid Stevia or other sweetener
10 dates, soaked overnight

Line a slice tin with baking paper.

Using the double boiling method, melt 14 pieces of chocolate.

Once melted mix in coconut flour until smooth.

Pour evenly into the slice tin.

Open the can of coconut milk. The white part should have hardened at the top. Scoop this part only out into a bowl. The rest can be used for smoothies.

Add the dates and coconut oil and Stevia or sweetener.

Using an egg beater, beat until creamy.

Pour over the chocolate base.

Using a fine grater, grate the remaining chocolate over the top layer.

Refrigerate for half an hour to set the cut to desired sizes. The chocolate base is very hard so be careful with this part.

Store in the refrigerator to keep the topping set.

This is seriously yummy. I took some with me to my depression support group and it was received well there also. Pretty easy to make too which is always a bonus.

I’m off until Wednesday now. I found a 30 day blogging challenge online from Live Love Simple. 30 days in April so that’s when I’ve decided to do it.

image

Join me on Facebook or Instagram too, I share lots of my journey on there also.

Hope you all have a wonderful week. I’m looking forward to eating peanuts again tomorrow, I’m hoping that too will go well.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

8 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Chocolate Coconut Slice

    1. Hey Charlotte! I didn’t chop the dates, but in hindsight I probably should have. I used pitted ones for less fuss too πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

