Recipe of the Week: Gluten Free Zucchini and Feta Fritters

A couple of days late due to my eventful weekend, which I’m still on a major high from. I’ll be sharing two recipes this week, one today for last weeks cheese test and one on Sunday for this weeks – drumroll please – chocolate test!

That’s right. Cheese passed the test. No itchiness, no stomach pains, no noticeable negative impacts on my body after eating cheese all week, so now I’m moving on to chocolate.

As with the egg test and the cheese test, I’m nervous. I know that chocolate can be a trigger for skin issues in some people. And to be fair I don’t eat a heap of chocolate, but I’m really hoping for another positive result because I really don’t want to cut chocolate completely from my diet.

I bought dark chocolate. It’s lower in sugar and additives plus it’s known to be a natural antidepressant, which is always a plus in my books. In moderation chocolate is a great thing. If you can eat it without going overboard or having intolerances I personally see no issue with having a few bites here and there. I always feel my mood lift, even if I’m already happy, after chocolate.

But we’re talking about cheese today. I like cheese. A lot. I’ve yet to try a cheese I don’t like (aside from those processed plastic-like slices). And cheese goes with everything savoury. Egg meals, casseroles, salads, sandwiches, it’s only limited by the imagination.

And like with everything else, in moderation it’s not a bad thing. I’m not about to go out and eat it by the block, but it’s a tasty way to add protein to a meal so I’m happy to eat a little of it everyday.

I had quite a bit of cheese last week. More than I would in a normal week, but I needed to get a lot of it into my system to see if it would disagree with me at all. I made some cheesy egg baskets for breakfasts and lunches, had some on a quiche, added some to a clean pasta dish I made, had some pumpkin and feta muffins for snacks and even had a couple of slices straight off the block.

Any changes? No. My skin is still healing, I’m still sleeping well, I haven’t felt sluggish or had a sore stomach, so I’m counting it as a win. Very relieved about this because I’d like to have at least one more burger in my life and you can’t have a burger without cheese!

I’m sharing my favourite and most successful cheese recipe from last week today.

Zucchini and Feta Fritters

image

Gluten free, sugar free, nut free and delicious, these are great for breakfast, lunch or even a meat free dinner. They’re super quick to whip up too which is becoming a necessity for me these days.

1 zucchini
1 cup fresh baby spinach
1/2 onion
20 grams Feta
2 eggs
2 tbsp buckwheat flour
1 tbsp parsley
1 tbsp olive oil.

Grate zucchini into a mixing bowl.

Slice spinach into ribbons and add to the bowl.

Dice onion and add.

Crumble feta into the bowl and add all the other ingredients.

Mix well. If it’s a bit too wet add some more buckwheat flour.

Heat a frying pan on medium heat and add olive oil.

Spoon fritter mixture onto the pan and heat until golden on the underside, approx 3-4 minutes.

Flip and brown the other side.

I served the fritters in the picture as a stack with a poached egg. They would be delicious dipped in smashed avocado too.

Hope you all have a fantastic week, I’m off to eat a little chocolate!

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

Leave a Reply

