Goals and Whether You Should Keep Them

I am on cloud nine right now. I feel such a sense of achievement. For those of you who follow me on Facebook or Instagram you will already know that I absolutely smashed last year Katie in the City 2 Surf today.

I don’t have a recipe to share this week, but I will make up for that next week  Today was a little out of the ordinary and I thought it was a relevant time to talk about my goals that I made for the year.

I decided towards the end of last year that this year, was going to be my year. This was the year I was going to lose all the extra weight, get on top of my mental health and achieve something. I prepared for it last year by eating well, exercising more and attending my support groups. I felt better pretty quickly.

Christmas holidays came and went. A lot of junk food was consumed, exercise was still done but not as much as I should have and some of the weight came back on. But I’d decided that after my holiday was when it would really get serious.

And it did.

image

Before I went back to work I wrote down a list of 10 goals to achieve over the year. At the time I felt that they were all achievable with a little bit of effort. And I have grown dramatically this year. Sure, I had a panic attack a few weeks ago, but the thing about anxiety and depression is that it’s for life. You can get on top of it, but it will always be there. Having a relapse doesn’t make someone a failure.

Goal One: Become debt free.

This was on track anyway. I was hoping for August but it will be a little later than that due to unforseen circumstances. It will still happen though.

Goal Two: Read at least one book per month.

I used to spend all my time reading, but not so much lately, so i wanted to get back into it. We are nearing the end of the third month and I have completed 2 books and just started my 3rd. The problem with anxiety is that it makes it difficult to concentrate. Reading basically goes out the window when anxiety is raised. I actually thought I wasn’t enjoying the second book until I realized I was headed for a panic attack.

Goal Three: Complete a full elimination diet.

I’m about to start week 10 of this so I’m on track completely. It’s taken longer than I expected but I’ve had results and that’s the main thing.

Goal Four: Run the entire City 2 Surf of 14 km.

Today, I achieved that. The longest run I’d been for in my training was just over 6 km, so I wasn’t expecting to complete this goal today, but once I got to the 10 km mark I figured there was no point stopping from there.

image

I also shaved 18 minutes off last years time!

Goal Five: Be able to do the splits.

I am currently no closer to doing this. However with my yoga practice almost everyday, I am noticing more movement in my hips and hamstrings. I have confidence that I will achieve this.

Goal Six: Bike to work at least once a week (unless raining).

Admission time, I have not yet biked once. I did not factor in that work might be busier than usual and that I would be starting early and finishing late regularly. And why would I? January to March are usually very quiet months.

Goal Seven: Volunteer time to a cause each month.

I regret to admit I haven’t done this yet either. I have signed up for a few collections later in the year and I did offer assistance to a family that lost everything in a house fire, but I haven’t volunteered physically yet. Again, I have just been to busy. I feel bad about this, but based on my panic attack I feel it is valid.

Goal Eight: Learn ‘Lonely Day’ (SOAD) on my guitar.

I’m yet to pick up my guitar.

Goal Nine: Fit comfortably into my goal pants, dress and jacket.

I’m wearing my goal jacket and goal pants right now. And they’re getting too big for me. Unfortunately, my dress still does not fit, but it will. I did not expect this goal to be hit so soon, although my elimination diet has helped. 23 kgs total lost. I also wore a size 10 dress to a wedding yesterday, last year I was wearing size 16. Incidentally my goal dress is a size 12. It’s just very small in the bust.

Goal Ten: Be grateful, stay happy.

If you read my post Gratitude and Family, you will know that I have achieved this. I am also the happiest I have been in a long time, even with the anxiety. This is in part due to all my achievements, but it is also a side effect of being grateful. I seriously recommend gratitude.

So as you can see, I’ve done well and not done well. What I didn’t take into consideration when I set these goals, was biting off more than I can chew. I didn’t factor in outside influences like work, stress and overdoing it.
I’d never set goals before and I was raring to go, but sometimes we need to do things one at a time. I forgot that I am only one person, that I would still need to be living my life while striving for these goals.

I do not feel that I have failed. I’ve absolutely smashed three of my goals and I’m on track for another five. When I set my goals for next year, there will be less, or I will break them down into time frames. I’ve learned to be more realistic and that I can only do what I can do. It’s still great things and that’s good enough for me.

image

This is me about a minute after I crossed the finish line. I was exhausted and still am, but I smashed last year Katies achievement so I’m still on a major high.

What are your goals and how are you going with them?

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

14 thoughts on “Goals and Whether You Should Keep Them

  1. Great post and congratulations on your race today, there is something so satisfying about completing the same race in less time! You’ll be on cloud 9 into next week. Your honesty is also refreshing it’s nice to see another human being who hasn’t quite gotten there with some of the goals but is on the way. As for me, along all of the others, I wanted to be more creative this year and I bought a camera yesterday (after saving for months). Spent the whole day outside taking pictures and loved it! Good luck with your goals, I’ll be reading!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I often feel like I’m the onlybone but then I remember we all have oir ups and downs. Awesome news about your camera, I’ll be looking forward to seeing some of your pictures on your blog ☺

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I always ised to make plans in my head but it wasn’t until I started writing them down to refer back to that I was able to start working on sticking to them ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved reading your goals. Congratulations on the run! The goal of doing the splits really made me smile. I was able to do the splits when I was 14 but pretty much lost it after that. I remember how thrilled I was when I reached that goal. Thank you for sharing with us at the Inspire Me Mondays Link Up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m really struggling with the splits but I’ve never done them in my life so really really want to. Thank you for hosting a lovely Linky party ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

