Recipe of the Week: Banana Rhubarb Muffins With Salted Caramel Icing

Wow what a week it’s been! The first half absolutely flew by, which no doubt contributed to the events of Thursday morning. I’m feeling much better now. Today was the first day since Thursday that I’ve done much and I think I really really needed that break.

I ended up taking the day off work on Friday. I explained my fears to my boss and he was very understanding. And now even though I’ve missed a day and a half (technically two, I really achieved nothing on Thursday morning), I’m not feeling to worried about work tomorrow. I’m a little nervous about all the work, but I know that I can only do what I can do. I’m a little nervous about how many people know what happened, especially since I shared the link to The Panic Attack on Facebook, but like I said the other day I’ve received nothing but support so far and I’m sure that’s not going to change. Just the anxiety trying to make my life harder than it needs to be.

I didn’t do much on Friday. My peer support worker came around and asked me how I was doing which was really nice. I watched some TV, read a little and generally just relaxed. Zombie and I went to the mall for a couple of things and I was amazed at how tired I was after! Panic attacks certainly do strange things to your body! My eczema has been playing up a little too which I think proves that it is somewhat stress related since my diet hasn’t changed since reintroducing eggs almost two weeks ago.

Saturday was a weird day. I woke up super motivated, went for a run and did some yoga. Then I was way hungrier than usual after a workout so I made breakfast and sat down to enjoy it. And that was pretty much my day. I felt kinda flat all day. Tired, so I napped, but I was just flat. I was so flat I didn’t even get all anxious that I was sinking into depression again.

Today, I woke up raring to go. Sunday is my meal prep day and this is something I can’t skip, otherwise eating will be very difficult during the week, but I also knew it was really important for me to have plenty of downtime too. So I got up early, did the groceries (so much faster first thing) and spent the morning in the kitchen and relaxed this afternoon. Zombie and Zombiedad went out together while I was cooking, so it was nice to have the house to myself. I put some music on and just enjoyed playing in the kitchen.

I’m feeling very proud this week. I’ve somehow managed to experiment with six different recipes this week and I’ve had a 100% success rate. Usually I only try one or two new things and it can be very hit and miss at times. I even got Zombiedad approval for one of them!

It was very hard to pick which recipe to share this week, because all of them were really really good, but I’d have to say my absolute favourite is the Banana Rhubarb Muffins with Salted Caramel Icing.

image

Even as I’m sitting here, all I can think about is having another. I’ve only had one but it was just so good! There’s actually no reason why I can’t have another either, because they are guilt free and healthy, but it’s close to dinner time so I’m trying hard not to. Pretty sure it’ll be on the desert menu tho!

These are good without the icing as well, but I’m a huge caramel fan and I’ll take any excuse to eat it since I’ve got a healthy version.

These are gluten free, dairy free, refined sugar free and nut free and at approximately 168 calories they’re pretty much guilt free!

Muffins:

2 ripe bananas
4 rhubarb stalks
3 large eggs
1/3 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup liquid honey
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder

Salted Caramel Icing:

10 dates, soaked in water overnight
1 can of coconut milk, refrigerated overnight
1/4 cup coconut sugar
2 tbsp coconut oil
1 tsp cinnamon
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 220 ℃

In a food processor or blender puree the rhubarb and banana until smooth.

Transfer to a bowl and add all remaining ingredients.

Mix together until you have a nice batter. It will look a little stringy but that is just the rhubarb.

Line a muffin tin with baking cups.

Spoon mixture into each cup. I made 12 muffins but they weren’t very big. You could make less and have them bigger if you want.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes. These do not rise much but a knife test will tell you if they are cooked.

Leave to cool completely.

Take your coconut milk out of the fridge and carefully open. The white creamy part should have hardened a little at the top.

Put the white part of the milk into a food processor or blender. Do not use the clear part. The remainder of the milk left can be kept in the fridge for smoothies In place of any other milk.

Add all other ingredients and blend together until it firms up a little. This took about 10 minutes in my blender but possibly should have gone longer.

Remove the muffins from their baking cups and spoon icing on generously. The icing is quite runny but I like the way it flows over the sides of the muffins.

Due to the icing being soft I’m storing these in the fridge.

I’d love to know what you think if you make these, because I think they’re delicious but I always appreciate feedback.

Check me out on Instagram @katie_tron7 or on my new Facebook page, The Happy Healthy Kiwi

Hope you all had a lovely weekend and a great week ahead.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

3 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Banana Rhubarb Muffins With Salted Caramel Icing

    1. I know right! I’d never even tried it before but I got given a heap of it from a workmate, way more than I needed, so I had to experiment to use it up because I didn’t want to waste it. Turns out it’s delicious in baking! Also made an apple and quinoa porridge with it too. Hope you enjoy it ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

