Recipe of the Week: Coconut and Date Amazeballs

Over the last two weeks I’ve had more and more friends tell me that they are really enjoying my blog. I just want to say to everyone who reads this, thank you. When I first decided to start sharing my journey, I was a little apprehensive. I honestly didn’t think anyone I knew would be interested and I was worried that I might be judged a little.

Instead, I have had nothing but positive feedback and for this I am very grateful. I’ve been told well done, good job, given helpful suggestions and I’ve even had people share some of their own experiences with me as well. This is truly touching as I personally know how hard it is to tell someone you are struggling, or have in the past, whether it be mental health, weight or even food intolerances. Thank you again, it really means a lot to me and it keeps me going with my own goals.

So now it’s confession time. I mentioned a few weeks ago that I have been training for this years City2Surf. It’s a 14 km (or 6km) fun run that also raises money for causes. Last year it was for Chomondely Children’s Home, a place close to my heart and this year we are running for Starship, a children’s healthcare foundation.

Last year I ran half and power walked half. This year my goal is to run the whole way. I have been training for a while, gradually building up my endurance. But this week I’ve slipped. I haven’t run once. Admittedly, I was unwell for a couple of days and there were a couple of unforseen circumstances that stopped me, but there were at least two occasions where I just said flag.

The run is two weeks from today, so it’s time for no more excuses! Any suggestions for how you motivate yourself when you don’t feel like it will gladly be taken 😋

My last post I talked about how I was a little confused about my egg test and how I was experiencing unusual pains. I’m pleased to report that I was fine the next day. I don’t think it was egg related, because I’ve never experienced that before, so I’ve decided to add eggs back into my diet for a few days and see what happens. If all goes well I will move onto the next food the following week.

I’ve had a pretty relaxing weekend. I didn’t have to work which was nice, so I made the most of the first break in a while and took it easy. I caught up with a few friends last night at a birthday party. I haven’t been out much except with my girls for a really long time so this was a little daunting at first, but I felt like it was time. And I had a really good night! I accidentally made the birthday boy think I was sick and dying because I wasn’t drinking. He was rather drunk (and rightfully so, it was his party!) And he just couldn’t fathom how I could choose not to drink for a while. It was actually pretty funny, he was quite concerned for me and was trying to brainstorm ways to help! I did manage to convince him I was fine in the end so it all worked out.

And now onto this weeks recipe, a sweet treat for a change: Coconut and Date Amazeballs.

image

Disclaimer, I don’t like dates. I can’t eat them whole. As soon as I bite into one, even if I don’t know it’s there, I gag. It’s the same with raisins and sultanas. But, once I went sugar free I quickly learned that you can get a nice subtle caramel flavour if you blend dates into your food. So I eat them now but only in blended form.

I wanted to try something different for a snack. I’ve only made amazeballs once before but I wanted to see if I could come up with my own elimination diet friendly ones. Turns out I could! These are vegan, gluten free and sugar free. Perfect.

I really like them. They have a hint of caramel flavour on top of coconut. They are sweet and perfect for a quick snack. Zombie wasn’t so keen on them but I’m willing to bet if I’d been allowed to use chocolate they would have gotten his approval.

3/4 cup coconut flour
10 dates, soaked overnight in 1 1/2 cups of water
1 tbsp liquid honey
1 tbsp chia seeds
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp maca powder (optional)
1/4 cup dessicated coconut

In a food processor or blender mix coconut flour, dates, honey, chia seeds, 1 tsp cinnamon, nutmeg and maca powder. I used a blender which was a lot harder.

Slowly add the date water until you have a nice mix. You might not need to add it all.

Tip the mixture onto a board. It should be not too sticky and a little crumbly.

Carefully roll into ping pong sized balls. They are crumbly so patience is required. I made 16 in this size.

In a small bowl mix 1 tsp cinnamon and the dedicated coconut.

Roll each ball in this mix.

These will last a few days stored in the fridge and can also be frozen for later.

Not a big coconut fan? Replace with oat flour, I just can’t use that at the moment. You will probably need less water this way too. You can also roll these in whatever you want, I used coconut to enhance the flavour.

We’re going to watch a bluray now. We got a few ‘scary movies’ out last night so it’s time to settle in for the night.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

2 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Coconut and Date Amazeballs

  1. Going to try these! Where do you buy the maca powder from and do you have a specific brand of dates you think taste nicer? I am new to dates so want to get some good ones as like you don’t think i could eat them whole!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo yay! I got the maca powder from a health shop at the mall, but it’s optional because it’s not cheap. It’s an Incan superfood that has heaps of health benefits including energy and imunity which is why I use it in anything I can 😋. I’ve only used dates from the bulk bins to keep costs down but the popular dates among health buzz people is Medjool Dates. Let me know what you think!

      Like

Leave a Reply

