Recipe of the Week: Slow Cooker Turmeric Chicken

I come to you, excited today, because tomorrow I get to test out eggs! Today is the final day of my detox. I’ve done six whole weeks of restricting my diet to a minimal amount of foods without a single slipup and I’ve had some amazing results.

I sleep at night. This is something I was never very good at. Even as a child I would lie awake in the wee small hours, telling myself, ‘if you go to sleep now, you’ll get 4 hours sleep. If you go to sleep now, you’ll get 3 and a half hours sleep.’ The really annoying part about this is I would usually fall asleep not long before it was time to get up. I was always tired, no matter how much sleep I got. But now I sleep really well. Every night. And while I have been tired this week, it was due to how busy I was.

I don’t get stomach pains anymore. I used to get horrible cramps, all the time, sometimes they were so bad I had to stop what I was doing until they passed, usually about a minute or so. There were days where this would go on for hours. Then there were days where it barely happened. It was never gone for long though.

My skin is less itchy and clearer. I still have a few spot of eczema but the least I’ve ever had. Something is still irritating my skin a little bit, but I’m going to test some natural clothes washing alternatives to see if that helps, because it doesn’t seem to be after eating anything specific.

I have 10 times more energy. I wake up early everyday and I have immediate motivation to get up and on with my day. I’m putting way more effort into my exercise in the morning and for the first time ever I’m getting some serious results. Even if I’ve had a long mentally exhausting day at work (which I’ve had a few of lately) I’m still able to find the energy to cook a decent dinner (well two decent dinners because I cook a separate meal for Zombie as well, my choice) and to potter around doing any chores that need doing. My house is a lot tidier!

My hair is easier to manage, my nails are stronger and shinier and the skin on my face seems to have more life. I have been taking Magnesium, B6 and Zinc which will be contributing to this. But I’m sure the results wouldn’t have been so dramatic without the diet as well.

I am so motivated. There is so much I want to do with my life, I’m constantly thinking up ideas if things I need to do and try. And although I still don’t see them very often I feel like I am making more of an effort with my friends in keeping in touch with them. I’ve gotten myself a laptop so I can type my blog easier and also because I want to look into doing some Freelance writing. I’ve always loved writing and I have been paid for it in the past, so why not do so again!

And to top it off I’ve lost 8.5 kgs since being on the elimination diet. I realize that I’ll put some back on now that I’m reintroducing foods, but it’s still pretty exciting. I went to an engagement party last night and I got so many positive reactions including ‘where’s the rest of you?’

Today I have been busy preparing next weeks menu. I will be having eggs for every meal tomorrow, but in different forms. I’ve made a mango bread for breakfast, I’ll be having a cold hard boiled egg for lunch and I’ll be having a poached egg with dinner. Then I won’t touch egg for two days and I’ll monitor any changes I notice in my body.

I have also been creating tonight’s dinner, which was my first real success with the slow cooker and I’d like to share it with you.

image

This has been bubbling away in the kitchen all day and it smells lovely. I use turmeric a lot lately, because I am limited to what I can use but also because it’s a natural antidepressant, so I figure it’s a good idea to get plenty of it.

You can use any meat, but I like to use drumsticks because of a trick that Zombie taught me with slow cooking. When they’re done, you literally shake them off the bone, then remove the small bone and it’s ready to eat!

6 chicken drumsticks (I left skin on)
6 button mushrooms, roughly sliced
2 cups fresh baby spinach
1 zucchini, sliced
1 onion
2 garlic cloves
2 tbsp turmeric
1 tbsp cumin
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tbsp parsley
2 tbsp melted coconut oil
Salt and pepper

Place all vegetables into the slow cooker. Season with salt and pepper and mix together.

In a clean bag put all herbs, spices and some salt and pepper then mix together.

Add chicken to bag and shake until coated.

Place chicken on top of vegetables.

Sprinkle any remaining herbs and spices on top.

Drizzle with coconut oil.

image

Cook on high for 8 hours, turning the chicken about 5 hours in.

I served this over quinoa. It would also be great on rice or a sweet potato mash.

This is the first slow cooker meal I’ve made that is Zombie approved! That never happens! 

Hope you’ve all had a great weekend and are ready for the week ahead.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

Leave a Reply

