Recipe of the Week: Smoothie Time

Happy Sunday all, I hope it’s been a good one. Mines been pretty ordinary. I worked yesterday (1st Saturday overtime I’ve done in forever!) So today was filled with weekend tasks that didn’t get done yesterday, including cleaning out the turtle tank, which is my least favourite. But it’s got to be done.

A quick update on my fifth week: I’m pleased to report that my Eczema is nearly all gone! For the first time since I was 17, I almost don’t have any affected areas on my skin. It’s amazing. I’m not sure why, but last night and this morning it did flare up around my eyes, but it’s almost gone away again. The only difference this week was I wore makeup three days in a row which I don’t usually, but I’m hoping that that’s not the reason.

Other improvements are catching a cold that only lasted one day and was very mild in comparison to every cold I’ve ever had! I thought I was going to be slogging through it for days but a hot lemon and honey drink and an early night cleared it all up!

I’m still sleeping really well and not having to deal with daytime fatigue. I have been a little more tired this week, but I think that is because work has gotten crazy busy and I’ve been running in overdrive to keep up. I wake up earlier now though. I find it difficult to sleep past 5.30 am now, but it’s ok because I’m not drained all day for it.

My hair doesn’t need washing as often. I used to have to do it every second day because it would start getting oily. Now I’m able to leave it for four days before it needs work, which is handy because I have very thick hair and it’s a pain to dry. Also my split ends are few and far between which is crazy since I hardly ever cut my hair.

My nails are stronger and shinier. I usually wear nail polish but when I take it off my nails are no longer dull underneath. They’re also not flaking and snapping like they used to. It’s nice.

I’m not using my asthma inhaler as often, I’ve only had one headache since day 3 and that was when I had a cold and I’ve been calmer and happier and achieving more on a day to day basis than ever before. I generally had no idea how awful I felt all the time, I thought it was just normal!

So due to the success of week five, I’m happy to announce that week six will be my final week of the detox period, before I start reintroducing foods. This will give my eczema a chance to go away completely before I add anything new into the mix. And I’m starting with eggs, because if I have no reactions to them, a huge amount of doors recipe wise will be opened to me.

So onto this weeks recipe of the week. Smoothies!

image

I love smoothies. I used to like them because I thought they would help me lose weight. Of course they didn’t because I was creating them with all the wrong ingredients. And I was always still hungry after.

When I started clean eating about 5 months ago I discovered new flavours and additions that made my smoothies not only filling, but guaranteed to taste good as long as I didn’t add beetroot (sorry all you beetroot smoothie lovers out there, I just can’t stand them.)

I started buying bananas ahead of time, over-ripening them and then peeling them before wrapping individually in cling wrap and freezing them. Not only does this thicken my smoothies up, but it gives them a natural sweetness from the word go.

Banana is the base in all my smoothies, but I wanted to share with you a few of my regulars that I can still have on this elimination diet. Pre diet I would add nuts and seeds to give them nutritional boost, but I’ve temporarily stopped that as a lot of those are off the menu for now.

I do top all my smoothies with a teaspoon of chia seeds tho. Chia seeds are a nutritional super food rich in protein that can be added to so many different foods, so why not? Moving on to the recipes.

Banana Mango

This is my favourite and I have it at least once a week.

1 frozen banana
1 chopped mango
1 tsp liquid honey or vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon
200 ml coconut milk
2-3 ice cubes

Blend and enjoy. This is a sweet tropical tasting smoothie, creamy and delicious.

Banana Kiwifruit

1 frozen banana
1/2 chopped mango
1 skinned kiwifruit
1 tsp liquid honey or vanilla extract
200ml coconut milk
2-3 ice cubes

This is a zesty tasting smoothie.

Go-to Green Smoothie

1 frozen banana
1 peeled green apple
Large kale stalk and leaves
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 lemon squeezed
200 ml coconut milk
2-3 ice cubes

This is the first green smoothie I ever made or tried and I love it. It never fails and I have it regularly.

Pimped Out Green Smoothie

1 frozen banana
1 skinned kiwifruit
1 large kale stalk and leaves
1 cup fresh spinach
1 tsp liquid honey or vanilla extract
200 ml coconut milk
2-3 ice cubes

I created this one this week and I was blown away by how wonderful and zesty it was. Will definitely be adding it to the rotation.

Avocado Smoothie

1 frozen banana
1 skinned kiwifruit
1/2 ripe avocado
1 large kale stalk and leaves
1 tsp liquid honey or vanilla extract
200 ml coconut milk
2-3 ice cubes

Wow, just wow. The avocado made this the thickest creamiest smoothie I’ve ever had. I gave it a go this morning and I wish I thought to try it sooner. It’s so good! The downside was that Zombie wouldn’t give me a kiss after because I was “all yucky and bananery”, his words not mine

So that’s my top five for my detox stage of my elimination diet. I am a little fussy about my fruits which is why a lot of the ingredients are reused in several recipes, but I also am quite limited. I am looking forward to being able to add berries and seeds and peanut butter to these the most.

What’s your favourite smoothie? I’d love to hear about it and give it a go when I’m able 😋 I also share all my smoothie recipes on Instagram, @katie_tron7

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

Leave a Reply

