Recipe of the Week: Three Vegan Pancakes

It’s that time again!

But first, wow, what a busy week! And today! This is actually the first time I’ve had a chance to sit down and take a break all day. But, the house is looking amazing, the garden is doing fantastic and all my meal prep for next week is done and all I need to do is cook dinner so it’s all worth it. That’s one of the good things about following this diet. Yes, I am tired from how full on today has been, but I’m not ‘done’ like I would have been a few weeks ago. It’s a good feeling knowing that I have the energy to get everything done, instead of just bits here and there.

I’m sorry to report but my eczema is still very up and down. It is definitely a whole lot better than it usually is, but it’s still not close to being gone. I’ve been doing a bit of research this week and I’ve read that there can be a link between PCOS and eczema, which may be a good sign for me. This diet is not ideal for my PCOS. It’s not bad, because its incredibly healthy, but because I’m so restricted as to what I can eat. While i’m not having any refined sugar or artificial sweeteners, I can’t restrict my carbs. I wouldn’t be eating much at all without carbs at the moment! So I’m going to do another week on the first stage just to check if I do have any more results with my eczema. If not I will start reintroducing foods the following week and slowly swing my diet to lower carb and see if that helps my eczema.

I haven’t had any stomach pain since the first week, which is great, I used to get it almost daily. And something else I noticed this week, I haven’t had a headache since day 3. That’s 3 and a half weeks without a headache. I usually get 3-4 headaches a week! Very very pleased about this!

But on to this weeks winning recipe.

image

Three different gluten free, sugar free, nut free vegan pancake flavours with one base recipe!

I’m particularly excited about these, I’ve finally gotten my ratios right and made some elimination diet friendly pancakes, that are super yum! I’ve made a whole heap of them and frozen them for quick breakfasts over the next few weeks. Simply microwave (thawed or frozen) or pop on a toastie grill and reheat to desired temperature.

The three different flavours are: apple and cinnamon; banana; spiced pumpkin. So without further ado, here is the recipe:

Base Batter:

1/2 cup quinoa or buckwheat flour
1/4 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup water
1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Apple and Cinnamon flavour:

1/2 green cooking apple, cubed, or 3 tbsp apple pie filling
1 tsp cinnamon

Banana flavour:

1 very ripe banana, mashed

Spiced Pumpkin flavour:

100 gm pumpkin, boiled or baked
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg

Heat a very non stick frying pan on a medium heat. Beat all batter ingredients except the oil together and add your chosen flavour. If the batter is too thick add a little more coconut milk and water, in equal parts until you reach desired consistency. It should be smooth but not too runny.

Pour some of the oil onto your pan and spread around. Spoon batter onto the center of the pan until desired size. I made 6 small pancakes out of the batter.

Cook until bubbles appear on the top then carefully flip. These can be a little sticky so make sure you unstick the pancake before flipping. Cook until underside is desired colour.

I serve all of these with fruit of my choice and top with liquid honey.

I really liked these. I offered a taste to Zombie but he said he’d only eat them if he was in a Bear Grylls situation and his survival depended on it. He’s very fussy when it comes to fruit and veggies.

I’d love to hear any other ideas for flavours so please comment with your suggestions and hopefully I’ll be able to try them soon 😋

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

2 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Three Vegan Pancakes

Leave a Reply

