How Instagram Helped My Journey

It’s been another busy week for me. Work still hasn’t calmed down, which is great, because February is usually very quiet. There’s a lot going on within the company too which is pretty exciting, makes for long days which is tiring, but I love my job so it’s very rewarding. It makes such a difference to work for a company that actually cares about it’s employees.

I’ve had a few early starts and late finishes this week, not entirely out of the ordinary but it’s not usually this regular, which has made being prepared and staying on track with my diet all the more important. I’m in the middle of my fourth week and I’ve noticed some wonderful changes so I’m pretty keen not to mess it up. I haven’t had a lot of time for experimenting in the kitchen this week but I’ve still got plenty of ideas so I’ll be making time over the weekend.

I wanted to talk today about social media and in particular Instagram, because I truly believe I would not be doing as well as I am without it.

I’ve had a Facebook for years, like so many others. I’ve been through all the stages, rediscovering people i went to primary school with or hadn’t seen for years, collecting friends just to appear popular, adding people because they would water my crops (I admit, I let Farmville take a year of my life) and putting up a gazillion photos a day to the point where I think people might have blocked me.

I still love Facebook, but I’m definitely not even remotely as hardcore about it as I used to be. I was definitely addicted, but realistically I didn’t gain anything from it.

Enter the ‘discovery’ of Instagram

image

I didn’t really know anything about it at first. I’d heard that all people did was post pictures of food on there, which is ultimately why I downloaded it and chose the username @katietron_7. I love food, in case you hadn’t noticed. I enjoyed experimenting in the kitchen, even when I was really depressed, because trying something new and then seeing people enjoy it always gives me a huge buzz.

I quickly discovered hash tags. We all know what they are and I swear they opened me up to a whole new world. Suddenly people from all over the world were ‘liking’ the picture of my shoes that I’d just posted. OK admittedly not many people, but enough to make me notice.

I started searching using words I thought might be hashtags and my mind was blown. Here was a whole community of people like me, trying to lose weight and have a healthier life. I started following a few people. Within a few weeks I started seeing healthy recipes, workout tips, inspiring transformations and words of encouragement left and right.

People started commenting on my pictures and I started to make instabuddies. I have quite a few now and I always look forward to seeing their posts, everyone is so encouraging and motivational and helpful!

I discovered through a friend that there are yoga challenges run constantly and some of them you can even win prizes. I haven’t won anything physically, but I still feel like a winner because I’ve learned so much about yoga in the process.

I post a lot of different pictures, mostly food, yoga poses and fitness related pictures, but also the occasional everyday life pictures.  It helps keep me accountable. I get so much encouragement from people on my posts and in private messages, it really keeps me going.

I don’t have a lot of followers, but that’s not important to me. You get the occasional person commenting on your pictures asking to be followed, but for me it’s about the experience. Since starting my elimination diet I’ve been opened to another whole new world on Instagram, this time with people on a similar journey to me, with depression or eczema etc, who like me are trying to find a natural solution. The advice and encouragement is phenomenal.

I was talking to one of the guys at work yesterday about Instagram. He’s on there for cars and bikini models. Other people just post shoes. If you have an interest, it will be on Instagram. I follow a few non health and fitness related accounts, but for me its the food and yoga poses that are getting me through this journey and I’m hooked.

Everyone has different tools for what they want to achieve, for me Instagram has become an important one. Anything that makes me smile and motivates me to keep going is a winner in my eyes.

Hope you all have a great rest of the week, I’ll be back on Sunday with another recipe of the week.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

Leave a Reply

