Recipe of the Week: Chicken Pizza on a Cauliflower Base

It’s Sunday again and that can only mean one thing, recipe time!

It’s been an interesting week this week. I’ve still kept up completely, 3 whole weeks without a single slipup! This is especially well done this week as for some reason I’ve been craving hard! I don’t know why this week is different, but every single day I’ve wanted to cheat. I’m wondering if it is in part due to the lack of planning, as I mentioned in previous posts I didn’t make a menu for this week, so everything was a bit rushed.

I’ve been experimenting a bit this week. I managed to make some vegan pancakes which were very nom, banana flavoured and topped with mango and liquid honey, delicious! Unfortunately I just couldn’t get them to work the next day, even though I used the exact same recipe. Weird but just one of those things I guess.

I attempted to make some muffins. This was a fail!. I can’t have baking powder and I really really wanted to try it without flax/chia eggs (a vegan substitute for eggs that works very well, but takes a little effort), which basically made for tasty muffins that were rock hard. They were alright warmed up, but not ideal. Work in progress.

I did make some delicious salads, and I changed up my gf df sf ef basil sauce which made for a delicious topping for chicken and zoodles (zucchini very thinly sliced, grated or spiralized, awesome replacement for pasta) which I will totally be making a regular.

Energy wise I’ve been really good, except for one day when I was very drained. Interestingly it wasn’t the night I spent up because my hay fever and asthma were randomly playing up. I was actually feeling really alive that day, well, after the hay fever cleared up.

I even found time to bake some regular gluten-dairy-egg and sugar laden chocolate chip cookies for Zombie. They smell amazing and I tell you it was really nice to not have to worry about whether or not it would turn out, I just knew it would. I do make pretty awesome cookies if I do say so myself, just can’t eat them anymore!

I’ve got quite a bit planned for next week. I’m going to keep at the muffins and pancakes and I’m also going to experiment with cauliflower recipes.

Which brings me onto this weeks recipe. Chicken Pizza on a Cauliflower Base

This is my meal prep for next weeks work lunches, I mean who doesn’t like pizza for lunch!

I was very very iffy about the base for this. I’ve never made one of the regular ones before and I wasn’t even remotely sure I was doing it properly, all I knew was that I’d need some sort of egg replacement, some gluten free flour and  a decent amount of cauliflower.

I was so pleased when it worked out OK, I was jumping around the house and Zombie laughed at me a little, but I don’t care, this was a success!

image

Chicken Pizza on a Cauliflower Pizza Base

Cauliflower Base

1/2 cauliflower head, riced
1/2 cup of gluten free flour (I used quinoa)
2 tbsp chia seeds (or grounded flaxseeds)
6 tbsp water
1 tbsp dried basil
Salt and pepper

Chicken Topping

1/2 chicken breast, cooked, sliced or shredded.
100 gm pumpkin crown
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp basil
2 cups fresh spinach
1/2 zucchini, ribboned
Small red onion, sliced
Salt and pepper to taste

Rice the cauliflower in a food processer, or blender (I had to do it this way, i recommend blending one floret at a time). Pour the cauliflower rice into a saucepan and cover with water. Bring to the boil and then simmer for around 5 minutes. Drain the water and leave the cauliflower to cool for a while. I waited about half an hour.

In a small bowl mix together chia seeds and water, cover with plastic wrap and leave in the fridge for about 10 minutes to thicken. This is a good substitute for egg. You can also grind up flaxseeds but I find chia doesn’t need grinding so it’s my preference.

Preheat oven to 200℃.

Once the cauliflower is cooled, wrap it in a clean tea towel and squeeze as much of the water out as you can. Return to the bowl and mix in chia and water mix.

Combine all other ingredients. Line a baking tray or dish with baking paper and spread the mixture evenly over in your desired shape. I used a baking dish as a guide for a squareish pizza. Place in oven and bake for 30 minutes. If you are satisfied with the colour, turn over carefully and bake for another 15 minutes. Remove from oven and reduce temperature to 180℃.

Peel and cube the pumpkin and boil or bake until it is soft. Mash until smooth and add 1 tbsp olive oil, cinnamon, nutmeg and basil. Spread over the pizza base evenly. Top with spinach, chicken, zucchini, mushrooms and onion. Sprinkle with remaining basil and drizzle lightly with olive oil

Bake in oven for about 10 minutes, until the mushrooms are cooked then serve or leave to cool and divide up for lunches.

This pizza can be eaten by hand but a knife and fork will be easier.

Hope you all enjoyed this weeks recipe.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

Leave a Reply

