What Can I Eat

Long weekend time! I don’t have a lot planned for this long weekend but there’s plenty I need to get done so no doubt it will be a busy one.

Had a pretty rough night last night. We stayed up late to watch a blu-ray which I really enjoyed. We got out a new release NZ movie called Housebound. Its a comedy/thriller/horror all rolled into one and I thought it was incredibly well done. I wouldn’t exactly say scary, but very good all the same.

After that I went to bed, but my asthma decided it was a good time to flare up. I spent most of the night drifting in and out of sleep and huffing on my inhaler. The little sleep I did get was filled with dreams of not being able to breathe but not do anything about it. Those are always fun nights. To top it off my hay fever decided to go into full swing at about 4am and even with my medication it didn’t subside until about 10am.

Needless to say I’m pretty tired today. I feel fine now tho, it’s just one of those things that happens. I didn’t let it stop me going for a run tho, which I have to say I’m pretty proud of. A few months ago I would have totally used it as an excuse to not exercise, hell, any excuse was enough for me!

How the times have changed. Only for the better though and my body is thanking me for it 99% of the time 😍

I’ve had a lot of positive feedback from friends about my last post on what an elimination diet is, but it usually is followed by the same question:

“So what can you eat?

Surprisingly, quite a bit:

image

While I have stripped out entire groups and families from my diet and a few randoms here and there (oranges for example), as you can see from my photo above there is still plenty of foods I can eat, I just have to get a little creative at times to make sure it doesn’t get boring.

A typical breakfast for me on this diet is generally a dairy free smoothie or quinoa porridge, which is delicious. Although today I branched out and created my own vegan pancakes which was pretty exciting!

Lunch often consists of leftovers from dinner. If I haven’t made something that provides good leftovers I’ll have a salad with lemon juice, balsamic vinegar or apple cider vinegar for the dressing.

Snacks have been pretty basic so far, apples, carrots, half an avocado, although I’m going to use this weekend to test out some theories I have on making some elimination diet friendly biscuits or something like that.

Dinner is probably my most creative meal of the day. I can only have chicken, lamb and fish (I am allowed wild game but that’s a bit out of reach for me budget wise) with plenty of vegetables. I’ve been eating a lot of kumara (sweet potato) and kale chips lately, but I’m thinking it might be time to throw in something else Over the next few days.

Here is a basic list of what I can eat:

Fresh fruits including apples, bananas, coconut, kiwi fruit, lemon, lime, mango, nectarine, peach and pears. Berries and oranges are off the menu.

All green vegetables except beans, carrot, cauliflower, mushrooms, onions, seaweed, squash, pumpkin, kumara (sweet potato) and yams (oca). Potatoes, nightshades (tomato, eggplant, peppers) and any beans and lentils are off the menu.

Meat I can choose from chicken, turkey (not common over here), fresh fish, lamb, canned tuna in spring water (check to make sure tuna and water are the only ingredients) and wild game. Beef and pork and eggs (not meat I know) are off the menu.

Oils are limited to coconut and extra virgin olive, but I really only use these anyway.

Herbs including basil, black pepper, cinnamon, cumin, dill, dry mustard, garlic, ginger, nutmeg, oregano, parsley, rosemary, thyme, turmeric and vanilla. I can also have small amounts of sea salt. This is where I get creative. I used to cook everything with chilli but that’s off the menu so I’m forced to experiment with new flavours, which is definitely a good thing.

Non gluten grains including millet, quinoa, rice and buckwheat in any form (flour or natural etc). No oats, even though some are gluten free.

Vinegars I’ve been using are apple cider and balsamic. No white vinegar at this stage.

For sweetening I have been using liquid honey, but I am allowed molasses and rice syrup (which I’d never heard of!)

For milk I have been using coconut for everything, but I can also use rice milk.

Drinks I can have non caffeinated herbal teas (I don’t tho because I haven’t found one I like), water or 100% pure and unsweetened fruit juice. I’ve been sticking with water.

And that’s my diet in a nutshell. Except I can’t have nuts, so maybe not. The pictures above are all on my Instagam, @katie_tron7

This first stage is specific to my personal needs, other people may need to remove onions and garlic, or other people might be able to add other foods as well. Everyone is different.

So eating out is almost impossible at the moment and office morning tea shouts are out. They threw one yesterday for one of the girls who is now on leave because she is getting married. I went along for the social aspect but couldn’t eat any of the cakes or savouries. But as I said to my workmate who said she should have organised something for me to eat, “you would be very hard pressed to find something I could eat, but that’s OK because this is entirely my choice.” This didn’t make her feel better but that’s just because she’s a lovely person.

Anyway, I’m off to try my luck with baking on this diet, no doubt I’ll have some sort of fun to report on soon.

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend, whatever you may be up to.

Smiles and sunshine
Katie

2 thoughts on “What Can I Eat

Leave a Reply

