Recipe of the Week, Moroccan Spiced Lamb cups

I’m now sitting on day 14 of my elimination diet and I feel great. I’m happy, energetic, no stomach pains, it’s so great.

I’m not yet seeing an improvement in my eczema, so I’m wondering if this is more stress related, although this diet is certainly helping me lower my stress levels so I’m hoping that there’s still a chance for improvement.

I’ve also had a lot of hay fever this week, although its not as bad as it used to be. So an upside to everything really. My asthma has been pretty good too!

I took advantage of the extra energy to get back into my running. I’m participating with my workplace in the Christchurch City2Surf this March. It’s a 14 or 6 km fun run and I intend to run the whole 14 kms. Last year I ran half and power walked half in just over two hours, so I’m hoping to see an improvement there. Got a way to go with the training tho so running is going to be very regular for the next couple of months.

I’ve also been progressing quite nicely with my yoga goals. I’m getting closer and closer to being able to do the splits which is a goal of mine for the year. Lots of hip and hamstring poses which are a favourite of mine so really enjoying this goal I’ve set myself.

Today has been quite busy. Sunday is grocery and meal prep day, but today Zombie helped me out! He’s quit smoking (so proud) but wants to eat all the time, so he wanted to make some yummy food in the slow cooker so that there’s always something available to heat and eat for him. The kitchen smells amazing today!

Which brings me to my ‘new segment’. I’ve decided to use Sunday blogging as my recipe of the week. I love cooking and creating new things, I try new things at least twice a week, usually more and I’ve decided to share my overall favourite of the week on Sundays. This week it was hard to pick because I made some pretty yummy meals, but I’ve decided this was my favourite.

image

Moroccan Spiced Lamb Cups

This was an experiment with flavours that worked well in my favour. I wanted to use Turmeric, as it is a natural anti depressant, but I wanted a different flavour as I’m adding Turmeric to everything these days. Above is the result!

This was tasty with every mouthful and very satisfying. Plus I have enough leftover for at least two work lunches which is awesome! Meal prep can be as simple as making extra 😁

Because I’m so busy these days, most of my recipes are very simple, and only take about half an hour. I get the enjoyment of making my own healthy meal, but without it being in the way of everything else that is going on. So without further ado, here is the recipe!

1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
300 gm lamb mince
3 large button mushrooms, chopped
2 kale leaves, chopped
1/2 zucchini, chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tbsp crushed ginger
1 tbsp cumin
2 tsp turmeric
2 tsp coriander (fresh chopped or dried flakes)
2 tsp parsley
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
Salt and pepper to taste
Red onion for garnish

Heat olive oil in a frypan on medium heat. Add mushrooms, kale, zucchini, garlic and ginger. Stir fry for a couple of minutes the set aside. Add more oil to the pan if necessary and crumble and brown lamb mince. Add remaining spices and mix well. Add back the vegetables and stir together. Reduce heat to low and gently fry until lamb is all cooked.

I’ve served in a lettuce cup garnished with red onion slices to keep it elimination diet friendly and a side of sweet potato chips, but you could have this in a wrap or over rice, however you choose.

I think a great addition would also be a tsp or two of smoked paprika, but this is off the menu for me currently.

This was a fantastic dinner for a hot summers Sunday and I’m looking forward to the leftovers for lunch.

Smiles and Sunshine
Katie

5 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week, Moroccan Spiced Lamb cups

    1. Thanks, it was delicious, I’d definitely recommend trying it. I practise yoga almost everyday, at home. It’s a great way to cool down and stretch after cardio. I have an app called Simply Yoga Free from the android store. I also complete monthly yoga challenges on Instagram, if you are on there you should check it out, the yoga community is strong on there! 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

