Mission Effort

The weekend has arrived! Bringing with it excitement and opportunity from every direction. The sheer volume of activities I can do over the weekend is far too many choices for one person to handle.

I Googled ‘what’s on in Christchurch’. It took me to a list of 31 events in the city today. That’s quite a few!

The local air club is having an open day and you can go in the draw to win a flight, as the pilot!

There’s a Spiritual Holistic Healing Expo on that I think would be quite interesting.

There’s even a beach day organized to promote the nudist lifestyle!

The temperature is just right for a run, walk, hike through the hills and even so called chores like the gardening.

And the actual chores. They’re neverending.

So what happens when you have no mission effort?

image

Today, I’m sitting here, typing this and thinking about reading a book. I don’t have enough mission effort to get up to much else. I had a busy morning running errands and I’m tired.

I’m even considering a nap.

Naps are awesome but they suck!!! I nap a lot and it always seems like a good idea at the time, but I always wake up feeling worse than I did before!

Not that I feel bad today, I’ve felt amazing all week! I just really don’t feel like doing anything.

Last weekend was fantastic. We went ice skating, hiked up the hills and had a picnic lunch, watched an awesome movie called ‘The Losers’. Also got some gardening (well, we have a lot of pots on the patio) and chores done, and of course my planning and food prep for the week ahead. And no naps! I was pretty stoked about that last part.

I often feel guilty about no mission effort days. Until recently, I had a lot of them. I don’t go out a lot because I don’t want to spend a lot of money at the moment. My anxiety makes me not the most social of people too. I love going out with my friends but I often feel awkward and not sure how to relax.  However I do have a pretty busy life, with work and fitness and working on my goals for the year.

I think that lazy days are important. I think that the pace, stresses and expectations of life leave us drained. We may not feel exhausted, but we deserve and are entitled to a break every now and then, a day of not worrying about what needs to be done, to recharge the batteries, slow down and relax. It’s important to look after ourselves.

Just not everyday. This is what I’m working on at the moment. I used to spend days at a time like this. Spending weekends and holidays doing the bare minimum I needed to and just watching TV or playing video games. It’s nice, but it leaves me feeling guilty to myself, for not taking advantage of the wonderful opportunities in my city everyday. So it’s time to change that.

I’ve been really good lately at getting out there and making things happen, so I’m not feeling guilty today. Tomorrow, I will achieve lots. And the day after, and more.

Today I am enjoying my break.

Smiles and sunshine
Katie

Leave a Reply

