Perspective

So I’d like to talk about how today was not a particularly good day.

I woke up early again, feeling great! But instead of getting up I lay in bed for a while. Big mistake. Next thing I know it’s 10 minutes after I have to leave for work!

Luckily my boss is very understanding. I sent him a quick text to say I’d be late then scrambled to get ready. One good thing about my depression is it has taught me how to get ready very quickly, due to the amount of times I’ve had to rush to get out of the house after the agonizing internal battle about whether or not to get out of bed and face the world, or retreat under the covers and spend the day crying.

So glad I haven’t had one of those days in a while!

I decided to take a different route to work. It’s a little bit further, but it’s quicker. THIS WAS A MISTAKE! Was almost at work when suddenly I see the telltale sign of disco lights behind me. It became pretty apparent that they were after me when I changed lanes to let them through and they followed.

So I pulled over and got a $300 fine. I haven’t had a fine for years! I admit, I deserved it (not something I’m proud of), but still! To add insult to injury I had to wait about 10 minutes for it!

The day went steadily downhill from there. Nothing major happened, but there were hiccups every step of the way. Delays, issues, setbacks. This isn’t unusual in my line of work, but it certainly makes everyone stressed and grumpy!

Which brings me to why I wanted to write about this. Today, I had a major win.

Today, I didn’t let any of it bother me!

I am so proud, you really have no idea. It’s such a good feeling to have what I would usually class as a bad day, and spend the whole day swearing and sighing and generally freaking out, but be able to brush it off!

image

This may sound cliche, but it’s actually true. So many good things happened to me today. And that is what I kept thinking to myself all day.

Simple things that we overlook everyday were the things that kept me happy today. I got a fine on the way to work, but I didn’t get into an accident! I had a rough day at work, but I have a job, not to mention a job that I love (believe me I know how lucky I am). I woke up late, but I woke up!

Yesterday one of the drivers came into work and said “every day that you wake up breathing is a good day.” That is something I’ve often thought about over the past few months for the simple fact that I’d be pretty gutted if I didn’t wake up at all.

I know from personal experience that it isn’t always easy to brush problems off, or to look on the bright side, but life is so much better when you do! It’s all about putting things into perspective. Something I started practicing a few months ago has helped me with this and it’s also very simple.

Think of 5 good things.

Whenever I get stressed or overwhelmed, I stop, take a breath and think about 5 good things. Usually once I get to 3 I’m feeling better and when I get to 5 I want to keep going! There are so many good things about life that once you get started, it’s hard not to smile.

Sorry if this seems a little preachy, but this is something that I have found really helpful with my depression recovery. The best part about it is that anyone can benefit from this.

If anyone has any other tips they would like to share with me for turning a bad day around, please do, I’m always keen to try new things to keep happy.

As always, I hope you all had a fantastic day
xx Katie

7 thoughts on “Perspective

    1. Glad to help Lucy. It’s not always easy in practice but the more you do it the easier it gets and the better you will feel 😁. Hope your day got a bit less stressful 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

