Accidental Concoctions

So tonight I accidentally made a delicious mild curry, and thought it only fair to share. This is elimination diet friendly, healthy and delicious.

I felt pretty good today by the way. Zombie slept through his alarm, but I didn’t so I woke him up then got up myself. At 5.30am! I NEVER do that! Especially on a Monday!!! But even though I’d had trouble getting to sleep last night I woke up feeling refreshed and ready for an awesome Monday.

Felt really good all day too which makes two days in a row. THIS IS EXCITING!!! Hopefully it means my body is starting to get rid of all the toxins and start healing!

I don’t usually like Mondays, I mean who does! But I tackled today head on, achieved lots at work (I’m actually still not caught up with my workload from my Christmas holiday!) and came home to get unexpectedly creative in the kitchen.

My original plan was simply to have garlic chicken and mushrooms on rice. But I kept adding ingredients and came up with a creamy mild curry that I just wanted to keep eating! I had enough for lunch tomorrow too, I’m hoping it tastes just as good the next day.

Turmeric Chicken Curry

image

So my photography and presentation skills aren’t the best, but I promise this tasted wonderful.

150gm (5 oz) chicken (I used breast) diced into bite sized pieces
2 garlic cloves crushed
1 onion diced
3 button mushrooms sliced
2 cups kales chopped
1 tbsp turmeric powder
1 tbsp thyme (I used dried)
1 tbsp ginger
1 tsp ground cloves
1 cup coconut cream
2 tbsp coconut oil

Heat half the coconut oil in a pan on medium then add onion, garlic and mushrooms. After a few minutes add kale and sautee until onions are translucent. Set aside in a bowl.

Add the remaining coconut oil to the unwashed pan then brown the chicken.

Add all herbs and spices and mix together. Add back in the vegetables.

Pour over coconut cream and bring to the boil, stirring. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until chicken is tender.

After simmering I added a bit more turmeric and ginger to taste. I served over brown rice.

This made enough for me to have leftovers for lunch. I never used to get excited about leftovers but today I am!

Before I go I’d just like to add that I weighed myself this morning, first time since I started the elimination diet seven days ago. I’ve lost 3.2 kgs! That’s about 7 pounds! I want to stress that this diet is not about weight loss and I am aware that once I start reintroducing foods I will gain some weight back, but it certainly is a nice side effect!

Hope you all had a wonderful Monday

xx Katie

Leave a Reply

