I Have Learned

PhotoGrid_1422163704113

I’m a week in now!

I wanted to post sooner but I’ve been so TIRED!!!

Its a lot harder than I thought it would be, but in some ways, it’s easier than I expected. I’ve view the first week as experimental. I stuck completely to the diet, not a single slipup, which I think is a huge achievement.

The first two days were pretty normal, except I had a headache that just wouldn’t go away. I obviously couldn’t take any painkillers so this made staring at a computer at work all day very difficult. Combine that with the fact that it was unusually busy (January is normally quiet after the Christmas rush for us) and it made for long days, but I got through.

Which brings me to the first thing I Have Learned. Plans can’t change on the elimination diet.

Often if I’ve had a long day at work I’ll throw my dinner plans out the window and I’ll opt for something simple, but I really can’t do that anymore for the foreseeable. Zombie had takeout last night, because we’d had a busy day and he wanted to make it easier for me in the kitchen. But I didn’t have that option. I have no issue with him eating whatever he likes when I can’t, this is my choice, so I was grateful for him lightening my load. He doesn’t cook but I’m ok with that too, I love cooking!

I didn’t do any exercise on day 2 and 3 because of the headache and because I was ridiculously tired. I’ve slept pretty amazing every night this week, which is awesome because I’m not usually very good at sleeping. Unfortunately it wasn’t helping with the lethargy tho!

Which brings me to the next thing I Have Learned. Leftovers are my friend.

I do a lot of meal prep on Sundays, so that I don’t have to do it every day, but even with the prep there’s still often a last minute thing to add. I found that because I was so tired I’d often forget these additions. None of them were major losses, but losses all the same. But leftovers are perfect for when I’m too drained! No last minute prep!

I also learned that having extra snacks planned is essential. All the information I’ve received has advised not to count macros on this diet, but I discovered that I was eating way less than I should be. I wasn’t hungry, I’m assuming because of the sheer volume of water I was chugging, but I had to make myself eat more just to make sure I wasn’t starving my body.

I’ve not been very creative with my snacks. The less thinking I have to do about every meal the better in this stage I’ve learned, so I had bananas, chopped carrots, avocado and apples on hand almost everywhere I go. I’m hoping to make it a little more creative in coming weeks, when I’m feeling better from the detox stage.

On Thursday I woke up feeling amazing and also discovered that I’d run out of lemons. I Have Learned you can never have too many lemons! I thought I’d bought enough but I used them in the first 3 days! I’ve been drinking lemon in hot water each morning, there are so many health benefits to doing this. But I’ve also been using it as a dressing for EVERYTHING!  Mostly because Balsamic vinegar doesn’t go with everything!

Thursday was great. I felt awesome, the whole day and was even able to do some light exercise! So when I woke up on Friday feeling like I’d been hit like a train I was disheartened. It took so much effort to do everything, it was definitely the worst day. I lost count of how many times I got asked if I was hungover. I got better throughout the day, but still didn’t feel amazing.

All I wanted to do was go home from work and sleep, but I had a friends birthday party to go to. It was an ice skating session and it was a lot of fun, but hard getting the motivation at first. Once I was there I was fine tho, I even sat watching everyone eat her amazing looking cake without issue. My willpower is getting tested this week and it’s doing great!

Yesterday was alright but today, I feel amazing! I’ve achieved a lot today and even though I still have to cook dinner and do my meal prep for the week I have plenty of energy for it! Usually on a Sunday night I’m completely knackered, so to feel great is a win!

I Have Learned a lot this week, but another important one is that it’s hard to fit a whole week into a blog post! So I won’t be doing that again. Sorry this was so long but there was so much more I wanted to say.

Happy Sunday

xx Katie

Leave a Reply

